Skip to main content

Hook (Neverland #2) by Gina L. Maxwell [arc review]

Hook by Gina Maxwell
Gina Maxwell is a fantastic writer! There hasn't been one book by hers that I have not loved -and I've read a few-. Hook is the second book in her Neverland series and it is an mm romance, which is absolutely, 100%, not my thing. That alone should be testament to how much I love this woman's work!
Simply put: what are you waiting for? Go read her books! 
Blurb:
Journey back to Neverland, NC with NYT & USA Today Bestselling Author Gina L. Maxwell as she turns your favorite villain into the hero you never knew you needed.

THEY CALL ME HOOK.

I’m Captain of the Pirates; a villain by design and a loner by nature.

I don’t need anyone. More than that, I don’t want anyone. Especially Officer John Darling who insists on seeing the good in everything, including me. If there was ever any good inside of me, it was snuffed out long ago.

I’ve avoided him for years, but now I need his help to save my brother’s life and take down Fred Croc, the monster from my childhood and my current employer.
Now Darling is undercover in my crew, living in my loft and forever working out shirtless. Taking Croc’s operation down from the inside is dangerous as hell, but Darling’s probing gaze and the natural way he defers to my dominant side might just be the end of me.

But I’ve lived in the dark for too long, and no amount of light can save me. Not even one as bright as Johnathan Darling.

HE CALLS ME DARLING.

I’m a Task Force Officer with the FBI; a protector of the innocent and a man in love with a villain.

Before I was even old enough to understand it, I had a crush on the broody teen called Captain Hook, following him around like a puppy and hoping he’d show me the slightest bit of attention.

He never did, though, not for years. Not until I became his only viable option for getting his crew member back and throwing Croc behind bars. Now he can’t ignore me, and he can’t hide the desire burning in his eyes when I sink to my knees, eager to serve my Captain however he needs.

But secrets are hard to keep in close quarters, and when I discover the darkness lurking in his past, eradicating the evil in Neverland is no longer my only mission. Come hell or high water, I’ll make Hook see that he’s never been the villain of this story…he’s the hero.

The Review: 4 Stars

This book was intense! Before you pick it up please be aware of all the trigger warnings. There is nothing explicit when it comes to the stuff that happened to Hook in his childish, but it is firmly implied and often talked about. 

Hook was everything! I cannot blame Darling for falling in love with that man one tiny little bit. There were just so many sides to him. I absolutely love morally grey characters, they are so interesting to read and get to know. Hook was not a bad man, but he did on occasion do bad things to get what he wanted, revenge. And oh my that was needed. Half way through the book and I wanted to kill that ass Croc myself!

And Darling was everything you would expect from a hero. And let's face it, he is the hero in this story. Hook is strong, stronger than he knew to be. But Darling, Darling heals him. Helps him see past all the walls he built around himself. Walls he needed to keep sane. 

Their relationship was sweet. Progressed at a nice apace and it made sense. Them together made sense. 
I loved seeing good all Pan again, being his usual happy go lucky self. And his gesture of friendship to Hook was phenomenal. Hook was in shock, I was in shock... Loved it!

I can't give it 5 stars though. MM romance still isn't my thing. I don't expect homosexuals to enjoy reading the straight romance I love and I believe the same shouldn't be expected the other way around. Their relationship was wonderful, but the sex scenes weren't for me at all, which meant there were large sections of the book I did not like/appreciate. 
That being said, thanks Gina for once again making me read outside my comfort zone. I like the challenge and I will always hold you and Ruthless (who started this journey) close to my heart!

Go Read Sunnies!

Find Hook at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.