Skip to main content

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy. 

Blurb:

In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny.

Powerful casino owner.
Ruthless mastermind.
Destroyer of men.


He lives in the shadows...

As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now.

She is society's darling...

Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans to learn all she can from the mysterious casino owner—then open a casino of her own just for women.

With revenge on his mind, Clay agrees to mentor Florence. However, she soon proves more adept—and more alluring—than Clay bargained for. When his plans are threatened, Clay must decide if he is willing to gamble his empire on love.

The Review, 5 Stars:

This little book has one of the most erotic scenes I've ever read in historical romance. And is not even a scene of the couple having sex. The fact that I read this in audio format probably made it even more erotic. Most romance books have sex and I confess I am usually indifferent to it, sometimes I even skip it. Not in this book. Every encounter between Clayton and Florence was intense- having dinner, hiding in the closet, just talking at the club's balcony... And so, needless to say, the chemistry between Clayton and Florence is scorching hot, spot on, masterfully done, etc etc :) For that alone, you should all read it.

But more than that, and for most more importantly, the story was really well done too. Florence is a strong willed women with wishes and desires most woman of her time didn't dare to speak aloud. She not only talks about it but forges forward with all her plans. Opening a casino being the most important one. 

Clayton owns a fabulous casino for man and having Florence find her way in every time intrigues him. He doesn't kick her out as he know he should, rather he asks her why. And when she tells him of her plans he somehow ends up agreeing to tutor her. 

He falls for her hard and fast. As does she for him. But things can't work between them. Clayton hates her father and has plans to destroy him. She knows this, but naively thinks he will think of her well being and not proceed. 

I can't say more than that without giving the plot away. Just know that these two have my heart. I honestly cannot recommend this series enough. And now that I discovered Jonna Shupe, I may or may not have added every single book of hers to my wishing list. Because you know, my tbr is not big enough... ups! hehe

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.