Skip to main content

Q&A with Lauren Layne, Author of The Central Park Pact Series

One of my favorite things at work is Q&A time. Our Romance Book Club reads 2 books a month, and for one of them, we always have an author joining us with a Q&A. In April we read Marriage on Madison Avenue. I loved the book and I am so glad I get to share our Q&A with Lauren Layne with all of you. If you haven't read her books yet, give it a try :) 



-  When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer?

I’ve definitely always wanted to be a writer! I was a really avid reader as a kid, so “author” has been my dream job as long as I can remember. In terms of how and when I started—I did dabble a bit in my early 20s. I read every “how to” writing book I could get my hands on, and would create these really extensive outlines for a book idea. But then I’d try the actual writing part, realize that it was really freaking hard, and quit. This happened a few times. But when I was 28, I got really tired of being that person who always talked about wanting to do something (in my case, write a book), but never actually did it. So that time when I started the book, I was determined to finish. I sold the book to Grand Central Publishing about two years later.

- When you are not writing what genre do you enjoy reading? And do you have a ’go-to’ author?

Despite being a contemporary romance author, it’s historical romance that I most love to read! Lisa Kleypas, Lorraine Heath, and Vivienne Lorret are some of my favorites, but if there’s a new release with the word “duke” in the title, I’ll probably but it regardless of whose name is on the cover!

- What was the inspiration behind the Central Park Pact series?
I was loosely inspired by the movie The Other Woman. I didn’t particularly love the movie, but one thing that stuck out to me that in Hollywood (and books) there’s such a stigma against “the other woman” in the case of infidelity, and I really loved that that movie looked a bit closer: what if the women involved with the same men became friends. After all, if the same man fell for all three women, they must have something in common, right? I’m not sure how I ended up with the “dark comedy” element of them meeting at his funeral, but I will say, it was a really fun way to kick off the series!

- Where any of the characters inspired by someone in real life?

No, not at all. I know that’s not the fun answer, but I very rarely have a real-life person in mind when I write characters—not even celebrity inspiration! In my head, those characters are real, not fictional knockoffs of somebody else.


- What was your favorite scene to write in Marriage on Madison Avenue?

Oh gosh—I think probably the lingerie store scene! I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it so much, but it was the first time in the book that we saw the confident, cocky Clarke a little unsure of himself, and it was such a huge “discoverability” moment for me with his character. Not to mention, it was just fun J

- Do you have a favorite book between the 3 in the series?

You know, I think I’d have to say Love on Lexington Avenue! In a lot of ways it was the “toughest sell” both with readers and my editor, because it’s not “high concept.” Meaning, that there’s really no catchy hook such as a “fake engagement” (Marriage on Madison Avenue) or a childhood enemies + secret identity (Passion on Park Avenue). It’s just about two people falling in love. Catchy? No. Romantic? Most definitely.

- Do you have any more books coming out this year?

Yours to Keep will be out in September, and it’s without a doubt, one of the most FUN books I’ve written in years. I couldn’t stop smiling as I wrote it, and even my editor the other day mentioned that she finds herself thinking about it and smiling, even though we wrapped it up months ago. I can’t wait for readers to get a hold of it!

I love the sound of that and I am looking forward to it!
Thank you so much to the lovely Lauren Layne for joining my small town's Romance Book Club and allowing me to share this Q&A with the world!

Find Lauren and her books:


In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation