Skip to main content

Jace (Kings of Country #1) by Sasha Summers

I have a soft spot for rock-star romances so needless to say I was very much looking forward to this one. That and Sourcebooks Casablanca has been rocking lately. Do you ever go through phases with romance publishers? I feel like everywhere I look at the moment all I see is rom-com or books that are catering for our current political and/or social climate, thing is rom-com is actually one of my least favorite romance subgenres and I am not a fan politics on my romance books... I've actually been reading a lot from my tbr lately instead of getting new stuff because of that.

Anyways, back to Jace!
I confess it took me a few to get into it. The start was a tad slow. But once the story got going it was heartfelt, kept me interested, and had a great romance.

Blurb:

Music is all he has...but is it enough to heal them both?

Jace Black went from an oilfield roughneck to an overnight singing sensation. Now he's working on a duet with country music legend Krystal King, and he's determined to earn his way to the top. But the more time he spends with Krystal, the more he finds himself falling for her--and he's beginning to be more interested in her than he is in making a name for himself.

Krystal King grew up on stage and in the spotlight. No matter how golden her life appears, her past left deep wounds. But Jace Black makes her wish things were different. To do that, she'd have to risk letting him in... And that might be too big a risk for her battered heart to take.

The Review: 4 Stars

Jace was a perfect southern good boy with charm and swagger that melted hearts. After wining a country music competition he is paired up to play and sing with Krystal King, country music royalty. 
Krystal is known as the black  sheep of the family. Her sister and her brother are the loved ones in the band. What people don't know is that a lot of it are lies and that Krystal has gone through some terrible things that you would not wish on anyone.
Jace in turn has also been through a lot, but because of the show he was on, his life is an open book and everyone knows about the tragedies that took place in his life. It is perhaps one of the reasons he is loved so much, people feel sorry for him.

Singing together consumes them both. It was nice to see them so lost into their music and little by little healing each other from the scars of the past. 
About three thirds into the book things start to get heavy. And if I have one criticism is that I know at least one person who would not be able to comfortably read this book at that point. I haven't really seen a content warning anywhere but there probably be have one -mentions of past rape and one present scene that although not graphic at all might cause discomfort. 

All in all this was a fabulous read that will pull at your heartstrings like any good rock star romance should. I cannot wait to continue with this series!

Find this book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation