Skip to main content

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (The Hunger Games #0) by Suzanne Collins

                                                                The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (The Hunger Games, #0)

This prequel of the beloved Hunger Games trilogy is absolutely fantastic. This story has the ability to be read as a stand alone, as you do not need previous knowledge of the original three books. However, it does give insight to situations and reactions in the trilogy. This book makes you sympathize with the loathsome antagonist from the main series, President Snow. 

The plot follows orphaned Coriolanus Snow as an eighteen year old about to graduate from the capitol's academy. Him and twenty-three other classmates are chosen to participate as the first ever mentors to the tributes in the games. As it is announced who was assigned to what district and what gender. Snow is assigned the district twelve girl-- which he perceives as a personal insult due to his family hiding being poor. The dean of the school is one of his father's old friends, who has an issue with Snow. 

The girl's name who was pulled for district twelve was a young lady named Lucy Gray Baird, who in short is a cunning and vivacious girl. She is not afraid to be the center of attention and seems to thrive in the spotlight with her musical talent. This makes her a perfect match for Snow, who is also cunning and charming. 

Collins' writing is spellbinding and delicious, which left me hanging on every word. I was not sure where the plot would go, but I was extremely curious about what we would learn about Snow. I believe learning about a villain's past can lend an eye into the world. (Much like we get a backstory on Voldemort in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.) 

Snow is a manipulative person, and uses many people throughout the story, which is not shocking with his future in mind. However, he doesn't seem to have that sickening, spine-tingling malevolence that we were so familiar with. His thought processes, while calculated, seem a bit childish and immature. As he gets further into the politics involved with the games and is probed with philosophical questions, I watched as he became more pernicious and destructive to those seeming close to him.

Understanding what caused Snow to become as heinous as he was in the series, was delightful and fascinating. As well, seeing how politics affect the games and people involved was eye opening. 

Thank you to the awesome Samwise for letting me share your review with the world! I agree with him 100% and I hope you all give this fabulous book a try! 

- Samwise works with me at my local bookstore and although we often read different things we agree on this one-


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation