Skip to main content

How to Fail at Flirting by Denise Williams [ALC]


"One daring to-do list and a crash course in flirtation turn a Type A overachiever’s world upside down.

When her flailing department lands on the university's chopping block, Professor Naya Turner’s friends convince her to shed her frumpy cardigan for an evening on the town. For one night her focus will stray from her demanding job and she’ll tackle a new kind of to-do list. When she meets a charming stranger in town on business, he presents the perfect opportunity to check off the items on her list. Let the guy buy her a drink. Check. Try something new. Check. A no-strings-attached hookup. Check…almost.

Jake makes her laugh and challenges Naya to rebuild her confidence, which was left toppled by her abusive ex-boyfriend. Soon she’s flirting with the chance at a more serious romantic relationship—except nothing can be that easy. The complicated strings around her dating Jake might destroy her career.

Naya has two options. She can protect her professional reputation and return to her old life or she can flirt with the unknown and stay with the person who makes her feel like she's finally living again." -Book Blurb

The Review- 3 Stars

Did you read a trigger warning in there anywhere? Nope?! me neither. And that sunnies was ultimately what made me not love this book as much as others have. Don't get me wrong, it was not a bad book, hence I gave it 3 stars. But, it is my personal opinion that any book that deals with abuse, that be verbal or physical needs a trigger warning. Specially audio books (and I did listen to this one). If you have experienced abuse in your life, hearing the unkind stuff abusers say from a narrator will likely feel very unpleasant -or worse. The abuse is insinuated and talked about throughout the whole book, it is not something you can brush to the side. And towards the end there is an attempt rape by said abuser too. I don't mind reading that, sadly it is a real thing, but I was not in a mood for it and not prepared. Not cool. 

Putting that aside, How to fail at Flirting had a good story. Naya had a lot of bad past baggage to deal with and all her actions -or lack thereof- where understandable. Jake was a sweet guy with a great sense of humor that anyone reading would love to meet in real life. Their chemistry was also on point. They complimented each other well. 

The story, from their meet cute to the happily ever after,  was put together nicely and it all made sense. Naya is a professor and her department might be facing the chopping block. Her handsome stranger just so happens to work with the firm contracted to advise on the university cuts. Jake handles it all maturely, Naya not so much. But it makes sense, her fears are real and I felt for her. 

All in all I would recommend this one, but it has to come with a trigger warning. It is NOT rom-com, it is contemporary romance. There is a lot of sex too, but it is not as explicit as in erotica books... I confess that threw me off a little, it was a strange mix. So much sex wasn't needed (or just go for it and make it an erotica already!).

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop - GoodReads


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation