Skip to main content

My 10 favorite Reads in 2020

I was on a book funk many times this year and as I look back at the books I've read it somewhat makes sense. Although I read some amazing books I did a disservice to myself by not reading as many books from my favorite subgenres as I should have and consequently there were a lot of 'middle of the road' reads. Books that many of you would love but that just aren't my thing, like rom-coms -I like them but I rarely love them. 

And so, for the first time ever, I will actually have a Top 10 list. If you guys remember, usually I pick 2 to 3 favorites for every month of the year, this time I just could not do that. Wasn't 2020 just great? 

Negativity aside, I read some OUTSTANDING books this last 12 months that I think you should all give a try. And -surprise surprise- they are not all romance at all. Only 4 romance books made my list! How weird is that? 99% of what I read is romance... 

Here we go (in order read through the year, they are all 5+ stars):

CLICK ON THE TITLES FOR BLURB AND REVIEW

- In Five Years by Rebecca Serle

Women lit. 

- Passion and Ink by Naima Simone

Contemporary Romance. 

- The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins

Young Adult. Prequel to The Hunger Games. Dystopia. 

- Ten Count by Rhito Takarai

BL Manga.

- Don't Hex and Drive by Juliette Cross

Paranormal Romance. RomCom.

- Voyeur by Fiona Cole

Romance. Erotica.

- Vows in Name Only by Naima Simone

Contemporary Romance.

- Tsarina by Ellen Alpsten

Historical Fiction.

Review by my friend and coworker in the store's website.

- The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by Victoria Schwab

Fantasy. 

- Bright Ruin by Vic James

Young Adult.

I do not have a review yet. But here is the Review for Book 1 in the series! That was all the way back in 2017, I was still learning the ropes of blogging. The series only got better from there. 

And that is a wrap! I loved every single one of these books and I cannot recommend them enough. I hope you all had an amazing reading year and my wish is that your 2021 be the best reading year you have ever read!

Keep reading. Keep dreaming. 

 



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation