Skip to main content

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab

Victoria Schwab is an acclaimed fantasy writer for a reason, she writes gold! Or the closes thing you can get to it in literature form :)

5 Glorious Stars


The Invisible Life of Addie Larue will, without a shadow of doubt, leave a last impression. 

It is the unique story of a young French girl in 1714 who wants more than her time period allows. More independence, more freedom, more choices in life. She spends years praying to the gods for freedom, but her requests go unanswered. In a moment of despair, right before she is supposed to marry the man her family chose for her, she prays after dark, and a god she knows better than to trust, better than to listen, answers. 

A deal is made. She wins her freedom and immortality. She can have it until the day she is ready to give the god of the dark her soul. 

She is free from a loveless marriage, but she is also free from everyone she loves, free from everyone that ever has or will cross her path. Because you see, the price for freedom is to be forgotten. She will meet someone now, and as soon as they walk way, they will forget meeting her. It is as if they've never met. She lives her life like nothing more than a shadow, something that is there one minute but not there the next. And the dark, who she calls Luke, he is there every year on the anniversary of her deal asking her to wield, demanding she give up. 

After nearly 300 years defying Luke, with one chance encounter, everything changes. Addie finally meets someone that doesn't immediately forgets her. I wish I could tell you more about him, but I can't, not without giving away very important parts of this heartbreaking story. 

Addie's life will crush you. How is a girl, hundreds of years ago, to find clothes, food, and shelter when no one remembers her for more than a moment? The things she has to do and endure will break your heart. This is a fantasy novel, but it also teaches valuable lessons about the things we can and cannot live without. About commodities we take for granted. About friends and family we love to complain about but would be destroyed if taken from us. About the true meaning of freedom and happiness. 

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop - GoodReads


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation