Posts

Showing posts from 2020

The Honey-Don't List by Christina Lauren [arc review]

Image
I absolute love these ladies. Christina and Lauren are above and beyond talented and I am very happy to sit and read another title by them. The Honey-Don't List was sweet, charming, and it had its funny moments.  Another day under quarantine, another fabulous read ;)

From Alaska With Love by Ally James [arc review]

Image
Sometimes it is good to go blind into a book. From Alaska with Love was that for me. I knew it was a romance but I could not remember the blurb and didn't re-read it. It was SO GOOD! One of those easy to read, feel good romances that leaves you with a smile on your face and feeling better about the world!

Crave by Tracy Wolff [arc review]

Image
Crave was everything you would expect from an young adult paranormal romance with vampires. Remember years ago when that was popular? I guess Renee Ahidieh with Beautiful and now Tracy Wolff with Crave are trying to bring it back. I don't know about you, but I am all in for it!

Undone (Start Up in the City #3) by Kelly Rimmer [arc review]

Image
I wrote this review a few times and stopped. Why? Because I love Kelly Rimmer's books and yet, this just didn't work for me. It is such a horrible feeling having to sit down and write a not so positive review for a writer you love. Oh well... it needs to be done...

How to cure a Book Slump & Review for Into the Dreaming (Highlander #8) by Karen Marie Moning

Image
How to get over a Book Slump? Those who read a lot get asked that question rather often. I have 2 tricks: the first is to pick up a book by a favorite author that is of a different genre to the one you previously read (or at least a different sub-genre). I find it is best if it is something very different than the book that put you on a book slump to start.  The second is to always have a long series you love going on the background. I am currently reading 3 paranormal series. But here is the thing, I do not read as the new books come out. I read only when I need a trusted book to get me out of a slump. This series is a little old now and the other two are still ongoing (Black Dagger Brotherhood and Bewitched and Bewildered). All that brings us to Into the Dreaming, book 8 and last in this series. I have not read The Highlander series in order though, I still have 2 to go- eventually! 
I believe this book is 14 years old now. Time flies hey? Karen Marie Moning's Highlander series …

Q&A with Abigail Owen, author of The Rogue King (Inferno Rising Series)

Image
It has been a very busy month here and not much reading was done. But the Romance Book Club I run for the store still going strong and the fabulous Abigail Owen has agreed to let me share our Book Club questions with the world!
Have fun getting to know this fabulous writer, we sure did! :)

A Heart of Blood and Ashes (A Gathering of Dragons #1) by Milla Vane [arc review]

Image
I've been dying to read this book ever since I heard about it. When the arc arrived I almost fell off my chair though, the book is huge for a massive market paperback. I knew it would take me a while to finish it... it took more than a little while...

The Bromance Book Club (Bromance Book Club #1) by Lyssa Kay Adams

Image
I don't buy books all that often unless I go to signing events. I actually still have two piles from the last two events I attended. But, I did go and purchase this one. I liked the premise, it is original. How many books out there with a male only book club? it promised to be funny and entertaining. Did it deliver though? Guess you will have to read the review to find out :)
Blurb: The first rule of book club: You don't talk about book club.

Nashville Legends second baseman Gavin Scott's marriage is in major league trouble. He’s recently discovered a humiliating secret: his wife Thea has always faked the Big O. When he loses his cool at the revelation, it’s the final straw on their already strained relationship. Thea asks for a divorce, and Gavin realizes he’s let his pride and fear get the better of him.

Welcome to the Bromance Book Club.

Distraught and desperate, Gavin finds help from an unlikely source: a secret romance book club made up of Nashville's top alpha men. W…

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Image
From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle [arc review]

Image
This book was everything I didn't know I needed. Amazing does not begin to describe it. We are still in January and I can already tell you this will likely be in my favorites list for 2020. It is easily in par with my favorite from last year!

Rich, Rugged Rancher (Texas Cattleman’s Club: Inheritance #2) by Joss Wood

Image
"Why aren't you pushing me away?"

"Because you kiss like a dream."

Through the Darkest Hour (The Chaos Theory Duet Book 2) by Cassandra Giovanni

Image
Romantic suspense kills me (when done well anyway). The need to know the end, to know what happens, and what clues I am missing, drives me CRAZY! And so, it is one of the romance sub-genres I read the least. I genuinely feel like I am giving myself anxiety issues when I do 😅 All that is to say this little duet was beautifully written and kept me anxious almost the whole way, which a romantic suspense is suppose to do. So if you like romantic suspense, give this little gem a try. The review for the first book is here.
Blurb:
I was sent to save the city.
It turns out I'm the poison that will destroy it.

Sun City is a city divided, eaten away by the corruption of the Elite upper-class who reside in the Gold District. The drugs siphon down into the middle-class White District, killing the dreams of its residents until they end up in poverty-stricken Blue District.
Ana Jacobs has spent the last year of her life atoning for her father's sins and searching for the truth about the Trinit…