Skip to main content

Q&A with Blue Saffire, author of Calling on Quinn (The Blackhart Brothers #1)

Hello Hello Sunnies :) 

As most of you know by now my favorite thing at work is getting to know a little bit more about the


Romance Authors we have come to love. Our in town book club read Calling on Quinn by Blue Saffire this past month and below is the Q&A we sent to Blue.

Thank you Blue for joining us and allowing us to share this with the world!

 - What got you into writing? 

My mother was a paraprofessional in the New York City Department of education for almost twenty years. She was a huge believer in education. I could read and write by the age of two. Everything my brother and two cousins learned, they had to come  back home and teach me. It was my mother's model. Once I was able to write, I started writing little stories, then poems, then songs. I've been doing this all my life in some shape or form. However, it wasn't until after losing my mother that I wrote my first novel. 

- When you are not writing what genre do you enjoy reading? And do you have a ’go-to’ author?

I'm never not writing. LOL I write to breathe. It's my sanity, my heartbeat. So if I'm stuck on a project I should be working on, I'll work on something else. Maybe in a different genre. To loosen up the issue. It's been a long time since I've read for pleasure, but KT Adler, Ivy Harper, and Tiya Rayne are on my up and coming favorites list, they suck me in. 

- What was the inspiration behind Calling on Quinn?

Quinn appeared with his red hair and smile, I was hooked from there. He was a challenge for me. Could I create a second big Irish family who were nothing like the one I had already created in the Brothers Black series. They needed to bring my signature voice, but have their own world, style, and dynamic without losing the big love and protector vibe. 

- Who was your favorite character to write and why?

This one is always hard. It's usually whoever I've completed because I hate them all while I'm writing them, but fall in love with the book once I read it through for the first time and then I break up with them and move on. LOL  However, Johnathan and Roni Black from the Brothers Black series are my favorite. As a couple they complete each other. Roni was on a journey to find herself literally as she had no memory and John was so full of patience. Roni also turned out to be perfect for him as defiant as she was. 

- How about favorite scene?

Oh man, I have a few of those. I'd say the car chase in Calling on Quinn is in my top five. I actually drove the route of the chase to make sure to get it right. I was so in that scene with her when I wrote it. I was even with Quinn as he watched with panic. Love that scene. 

- Are the brothers and the family life based on anyone in particular? –we loved the banter and camaraderie-

My characters are all pieces of me and my husband, with a few friends and family members tossed in. I have a funny home. We laugh a lot and joke a lot so it's always fun to place that in the books. 

- Did you have to do much research for the boys’ accents?

Not for Quinn's book exactly. I have tons of prior research I've done and brought with me into the Blackhart series. I also pull from a family I grew up around for a few years. It's always fun to see what I can use and how to fit it in. 

- Do you have other books on the works?

I'm currently working on the last two books in the Blackhart Brothers Series and the tons of books waiting their turn. I have a Christmas book I hope to get out this year as a bonus in the 7 book Brothers Black series. This will be book 8. I also have a book that has been sitting for about two years which I'm completing edits on as I take a mental breather.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation