Skip to main content

Posts

The Cursed King (Inferno Rising #4) by Abigail Owen

This series has been an absolutely delight and I am so glad I've read it. The Rogue King , the first book in the series is still very much my favorite. I discovered Abigail Owen through that book and have read a few of her other books since, this series -obviously-, and others. I highly recommend you all give this wonderful author a try. Blurb: He will burn. She will rise. Airk Azdajah, the rightful King of the White Clan, spent half a millennium being tortured by the false High King Pytheios. The only reason he’s alive is a curse— the man to kill Airk will be consumed in his own fire. Which is why Pytheios kept Airk alive, barely, unable to shift in his prison cage, driving the creature half of him into madness. Airk escaped, but he’ll never be truly free. What good is a king who can never let his feral dragon loose, never fly, and never lead his people? He’s better off dead. Angelika Amon is the last unmated phoenix. The problem? She has no powers. Zip. Zilch. Angelika hates bein
Recent posts

Hunter's Hope (Vampire Motorcycle Club #2) by Alyssa Day

I had been waiting for this one since January. Bane's Choice ,  the first book in the series, was my first read of the year. I didn't plan for this series to be my first and last reads of 2021 but it is kind of cool that it worked out that way.   Here is the Blurb for Hunter's Hope : Hunter Evans risked his life again and again as a firefighter until the night he died saving a child...only to be reborn as a vampire. Now the man who lived his life as the quintessential “nice guy” must find a way to conquer the deadly urges that threaten to turn him feral. When his own actions put a beautiful woman in danger, he vows to protect her…even from himself. Alice Darlington has a secret of her own: she sees ghosts. She thought she’d done a good job of keeping it under wraps—until now. A terrible threat from her past is hunting her down in order to use her power for dark purposes. Now she’s on the run and doesn't know who to trust or where to go. When Hunter and Alice team up to

Top 10 of 2021!

It is hard to believe we are saying goodbye to 2021 already. Insane! My Top 10 list for this past year consists of 7 romances (unsurprisingly since that is what I read most), 2 young adults, and 1 fiction (historical fiction to be exact). You will find my Top 10 below, but I would also love to see yours. Send me a message on Instagram  with the link to your list so I can have a look (and I will happily share on my Instagram stories too)!  They are in no particular order and the ones with title only are clickable, that will send you to the review. Have fun and happy reading!  I hope you find something to love in this list and that you end up loving it as much as I did.  1 - Raphael by Tillie Cole  (Dark Romance) 2 - Priest by Sierra Simone  (Taboo Romance) 3 - The Vixen and the Vet by Kat Regnery (Modern Fairytale Retelling Romance) Great modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Savanah was a struggling journalist and Asher a wounded veteran living in hiding because of his injuries. S

I Hate You More by Lucy Gilmore (Goodreads Author), Alex Knox (Narrator), Emily Pike Stewart (Narrator)

I haven't laughed while reading a romance book this much in a long time! It is no secret that although contemporary romance and/or romcoms are not usually my go to that Lucy Gilmore always hits the spot. Probably because of the addition of puppies :) point is, her romances are always a delight to read. This time the story was not just a great and at times emotional romance, it was also absolutely hilarious!  and very very sexy :)  If I were to recommend you only one contemporary, and from those only one romantic comedy, this would be it.  The Glimpses of My Books Award for best romcom in 2021 goes to:  I Hate You More  by Lucy Gilmore! Ok ok, that award means absolutely nothing and I just made it up, but you get the point right? I loved the book and you must read it. Here is the Blurb for you: Discover what makes Lucy Gilmore an instant fan favorite with this unforgettably funny enemies-to-lovers romcom starring: • a grumpy dog show judge • a determined former beauty queen • and a

Promises and Pomegranates (Monsters & Muses #1) by Sav R. Miller

I was very excited about this read. The reviews are good, the people recommending it were people whose recommendations I have liked in the past. And in the end, at did like this one. But I will confess from the start that Promises and Pomegranates  did not blow me away. Blurb: Elena To most, Kal Anderson is a villain. Harbinger of death, keeper of souls, frequenter of nightmares. Doctor Death. Hades incarnate. They say he stole me. Usurped my fiancĂ© and filled the cracks in my heart with empty promises. Imprinted his crimson fingerprints on my psyche and tried to set me free. They’re not wrong, per se. Except it was my choice to stay. Kal To most, Elena Ricci is an innocent. Goddess of springtime, lover of poetry, angel of my nightmares. Little one. Persephone personified. They say I ruined her. Shattered her virtue and devoured her soul like a succulent pomegranate. Embedded my evil as deep as I could possibly get and tried to set her free. They’re not wrong, per se. Except it was she

Raze (Scarred Souls #1) by Tillie Cole

This book is going to go on my favorites list for 2021. I know the year has not ended yet but it doesn't matter. It is what it is. AmAzInG ReAd! Blurb: To take back life, one must first face death... One man stripped of his freedom, his morals...his life. Conditioned in captivity to maim, to kill and to slaughter, prisoner 818 becomes an unremorseful, unrivaled and unstoppable fighter in the ring. Violence is all he knows. Death and brutality are the masters of his fate. After years of incarceration in an underground hell, only one thought occupies his mind: revenge...bloody, slow and violent revenge. Revenge on the man who lied. Revenge on the man who wronged him. Revenge on the man who condemned him and turned him into this: a rage-fueled killing machine. A monster void of humanity; a monster filled with hate. And no one will stand in the way of getting what he wants. One woman stripped of her freedom, her morals...her life. Kisa Volkova is the only daughter of Kirill ‘The Silenc

Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship by Annabel Abbs (ALC review)

Miss Eliza's English Kitchen  was a very intriguing read. I do like a good historical fiction from time to time, specially when it is based in real facts and real people (if you like historical fiction, see  Tsarina - it even made on my top 10 of 2020) and this one did not disappoint. Perfection! Blurb: In a novel perfect for fans of Hazel Gaynor’s A Memory of Violets and upstairs-downstairs stories, Annabel Abbs, the award-winning author of The Joyce Girl, returns with the brilliant real-life story of Eliza Acton and her assistant as they revolutionized British cooking and cookbooks around the world. Before Mrs. Beeton and well before Julia Child, there was Eliza Acton, who changed the course of cookery writing forever. England 1837. Victorian London is awash with exciting new ingredients from spices to exotic fruits, but Eliza Acton has no desire to spend her days in the kitchen. Determined to be a poet and shamed by the suggestion she write a cookery book instead, she at first r