Skip to main content

Black Sun (Between Earth and Sky #1) by Rebecca Roanhorse [arc/alc review]

October, the month to read mysteries, horror, and suspense... but how about a fantasy novel with a little


bit of all of the above? That is definitely my preference and New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Resistance Reborn, Rebecca Roanhorse, wrote just the right book. Inspired by the civilizations of the Pre-Columbian Americas, full of magic, intrigue, and prophecies, Black Sun will keep you on your toes. 

The very first few pages of Black Sun will certainly give you Halloween vibes. A mother that carves out her own son's eyes? ouch. But if that is a little too much for you don't let it deter you from reading it, not many scenes that gory and there is a much bigger reason and purpose for it. And the boy, Serapio, grows up to become fearless, a vessel for the gods, and easily the most powerful character in the book.

The story is centered and told from the perspective of four different characters. As the story unfolds their lives and fates intertwine. The first, and easily my favorite character in the book was Serapio. We first meet him when he is just a boy. His journey to the man be becomes is compelling and heartbreaking. His mother sacrifices herself to make him more than what he is, a crow god; his father casts him aside; and his tutors teach him not with kindness but with a firm hand. When the time comes to fulfill his destiny he embarks on a journey across the seas to the town of Tova. The captain of the ship is Xiala, our second character and equally as fascinating as Serapio. Xiala is more than just a sailor, she also has magic in her veins. With her magical powers she rules the sea and all in it with just a song. Their journey across the sea is not easy and the crew is afraid of them, of what they are. The two of them become friends and confidants and their interactions added much needed humanity to a book full of magic, prophecy, and political intrigue. 

On the other side of the ocean, in the city of Tova, are the other two main characters of the story. The winter solstice is fast approaching in the city, and although it is usually a time for celebration it coincides this year with a solar eclipse, unbalancing the world and weakening the sun priest. Nora, the sun priest, is doing all she can to convince those around her to get more in touch with the people and their needs. Her actions are not welcomed and they try to cast her out. In the end, that might be what saves her. Or so I hope... We won't know until the next book comes out. Cliffhangers will be the death of me! 

The other powerful establishment in the city of Tova are the followers of the Carrion Crow clan. They have been waiting for the prophesize return of the crow god so they can take down the sun priest. The Crow Matron's son, Okoa, is our last main character. He doesn't really know who to trust and as of now it is hard to tell what his part will be in this trilogy. 

If you are a fan of fantasy you shouldn't let this one pass. It has a great and original storyline, compelling characters, and the world building was done really well. It is also a great read for this time of the year if horror is not something you can stomach but you still want a book with an edge this Halloween. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation