Skip to main content

Beautifully Cruel (Beautifully Cruel #1) by J.T. Geissinger


What is better than receiving books? Receiving books from someone that knows what your favorite genre and subgenre is and having them get it 100% right. Thanks the heavens for my beautiful friend Becky and for her introducing me to J.T. Geissinger. I already ordered the next book and you will all be getting my review from that one as soon as I am done. 

Blurb:

Alpha (noun):

1) Having the highest rank in a dominance hierarchy

2) The most powerful man in a group

3) Liam Black

 

He was a stranger to me, a dark and dangerous presence who materialized from the shadows one rainy night to save me from a vicious attack. I didn’t know his name or where he was from. All I knew was that the only place I’d ever felt safe was in his arms. 

But safety is an illusion.

And not every savior is a hero.

And—as I’d soon find out—having an alpha save your life comes with a price.

Liam Black wanted something from me in return.

Book Review: 5 Stars

The blurb for the book doesn’t tell you much and in this case I like that. It would spoil the few twists and turns if it said anything. 

Liam Black was alpha with capital A. He wants and needs to be in control at all times and no one ever defies him or says no to him. No one except Tru of-course. It backfires a few times but she does at least try to stand her ground and I appreciated that about her. 

Liam’s background will break your heart. Little by little he opens up to Tru and we get to see more and more of who he truly is. I was captivated by his character. 

Tru is also captivating, just in a very different way. She is shy but when nervous very talkative and does not have a filter. She knows what she wants and doesn’t let fear get in the way of doing and saying what she needs and wants.

I wouldn’t exactly classify this one as a Mafia romance. Yes, Liam is the head of the mafia, but we get to see very little of it. The main conflict in the book is between them. Its Liam getting over his past and moving forward. Its the constant push and drama between the main characters. 

All in all this was an intense romance book and I absolutely loved it.  

Find the Book at: GoodReads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.