Skip to main content

Calling on Quinn (The Blackhart Brothers #1) by Blue Saffire, 4 Stars

This was my first by Blue Saffire and certainly won't be the last. I very much enjoyed the romance and the camaraderie between brothers that she created here. I almost liked that even more than the romance. The relationship between the brothers and their distinctive personalities left me wanting for more. They were fun, full of heart and loyalty, charming. 



Quinn is a private investigator with his family. He and his brothers all work together and due to the nature of their work danger does tend to follow them. He is a former cop and an alpha in every sense of the word. He may melt for his nieces and nephews but he also has a really bad temper when someone messes with those he loves. His attraction to Alicia was instant and it quickly turned into more. When someone hurts his sister he does everything he can to figure out who is behind and and to protect his family and the woman he is falling for. I REALLY liked him. Which is not surprising if you have been following my reviews for a while. I do like my alpha males. 

Alicia had a terrible year. Betrayed by her best friend and with an idiot as an ex she is not sure how to move on. Thankfully she has two roommates and good friends giving her a push in the right direction. And of-course one very persistent man. Quinn does not give up on what - or who he wants. Ever. 
I liked her. But I confess that she is a tad forgettable. The book really is about the brothers. 

That and the Irish accent are what stops me from giving this beauty a 5 star. I am British, and I get very picky and annoyed at accents from my side of the pond that are either not done correctly or feel a tad forced (I say it this way because I know most of my readers are in the US). It wasn't bad, it just felt a little forced. I didn't add anything to the story.

A lot of readers love accents. A lot of readers don't. So I would say take that in consideration. 
Apart from that, do give the book a go. I really enjoyed it and will definitely read the next book in the series.
 
Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation