Skip to main content

Don't Hex and Drive (Stay a Spell #2) by Juliette Cross [arc review]

Sometimes you only realize you've been missing something when a favorite author of yours comes up with something new. I did not know I liked charming Bollywood actors, now I know I do. Thanks for that Juliette Cross! I think.... hehe (as if I needed another obsession)

Blurb:

Don't Hex and Drive

Notoriously bad at peopling, Isadora Savoie spends most of her time in the greenhouse or at the local animal shelter, using her Conduit powers of growth and healing. Content to remain in the background of the Savoie sister shenanigans, she’s reluctantly roped into the mystery of missing neighborhood girls. Now, she’s partnered with a flashy, flirty vampire to find them before it’s too late.

Devraj Kumar has seen and done it all. Three hundred years roaming the earth as a Stygorn—a legendary vampire warrior who operates in the shadows—has its perks. But ennui has set in. That is, until he has a run-in—literally—with an intriguing witch while on a new assignment in New Orleans. Fascinated by her resistance to his charms, Devraj can’t help but push her buttons in an effort to get to know the shy witch. Fortunately for him, she’s been recruited by the Lord of Vampires to assist Devraj on the case.

Between a Bollywood marathon, supernatural dating app, secret package, and sexy driving instruction, Isadora is in over her head. And Devraj? After just one taste, he’s playing for keeps.

The Review: 5 Stars

Don't Hex and Drive was an absolute delight. I loved Wolf Gone Wild and I did not think I would prefer this book over it. Honestly I didn't even remember Isadora from the first book (sorryyyyyyyyy...). And yet, here we are, 100% in love with Devraj and Isadora. 

First of all there are the comedy and humorous aspects to it. I think Juliette Cross managed to write those moments much more seamlessly this time around. The romcom side of it felt a lot more natural and therefore a lot more enjoyable and funny. 

Isadora is an adorable introvert that would rather spend her days in her greenhouse than dealing with people. She was cute and sweet without coming across as also weak. Much the contrary, she is has a lot power of her won. 

Devraj oozes charm and charisma. As one would expect from a famous and good looking Bollywood actor I suppose. He is a very powerful vampire and very much the opposite in personality to Isadora. But you know what they say: opposites attract.

And boy did these two work well together! Their private scenes were steamy! 

The side story on this one although topic wise is a little heavy (girls being kidnapped) was delivered with a light touch. Adding to that easy to read feel you get with romcoms.

To me, this book has a very different feel from all other previous works by Juliette Cross. I feel like she is slowly moving into the contemporary world. Which is nice and definitely worked for Devraj and Isadora's story. I am selfish though, so Juliette Cross better keep on writing pnr or I'm gonna be mad! (kidding...kind of...hehe)

Give this beauty a try! I guarantee you will love it. 

 Ps- although this is the second book in the series, it can be read as a stand alone.

Find this book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation