Skip to main content

Don't Hex and Drive (Stay a Spell #2) by Juliette Cross [arc review]

Sometimes you only realize you've been missing something when a favorite author of yours comes up with something new. I did not know I liked charming Bollywood actors, now I know I do. Thanks for that Juliette Cross! I think.... hehe (as if I needed another obsession)

Blurb:

Don't Hex and Drive

Notoriously bad at peopling, Isadora Savoie spends most of her time in the greenhouse or at the local animal shelter, using her Conduit powers of growth and healing. Content to remain in the background of the Savoie sister shenanigans, she’s reluctantly roped into the mystery of missing neighborhood girls. Now, she’s partnered with a flashy, flirty vampire to find them before it’s too late.

Devraj Kumar has seen and done it all. Three hundred years roaming the earth as a Stygorn—a legendary vampire warrior who operates in the shadows—has its perks. But ennui has set in. That is, until he has a run-in—literally—with an intriguing witch while on a new assignment in New Orleans. Fascinated by her resistance to his charms, Devraj can’t help but push her buttons in an effort to get to know the shy witch. Fortunately for him, she’s been recruited by the Lord of Vampires to assist Devraj on the case.

Between a Bollywood marathon, supernatural dating app, secret package, and sexy driving instruction, Isadora is in over her head. And Devraj? After just one taste, he’s playing for keeps.

The Review: 5 Stars

Don't Hex and Drive was an absolute delight. I loved Wolf Gone Wild and I did not think I would prefer this book over it. Honestly I didn't even remember Isadora from the first book (sorryyyyyyyyy...). And yet, here we are, 100% in love with Devraj and Isadora. 

First of all there are the comedy and humorous aspects to it. I think Juliette Cross managed to write those moments much more seamlessly this time around. The romcom side of it felt a lot more natural and therefore a lot more enjoyable and funny. 

Isadora is an adorable introvert that would rather spend her days in her greenhouse than dealing with people. She was cute and sweet without coming across as also weak. Much the contrary, she is has a lot power of her won. 

Devraj oozes charm and charisma. As one would expect from a famous and good looking Bollywood actor I suppose. He is a very powerful vampire and very much the opposite in personality to Isadora. But you know what they say: opposites attract.

And boy did these two work well together! Their private scenes were steamy! 

The side story on this one although topic wise is a little heavy (girls being kidnapped) was delivered with a light touch. Adding to that easy to read feel you get with romcoms.

To me, this book has a very different feel from all other previous works by Juliette Cross. I feel like she is slowly moving into the contemporary world. Which is nice and definitely worked for Devraj and Isadora's story. I am selfish though, so Juliette Cross better keep on writing pnr or I'm gonna be mad! (kidding...kind of...hehe)

Give this beauty a try! I guarantee you will love it. 

 Ps- although this is the second book in the series, it can be read as a stand alone.

Find this book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.