Skip to main content

"Quickies" August 2020

Hello Hello Sunnies! :)

This past month I've read a few older publications, and although I don't have the time to write long reviews on all of them, here is a quick recap (specially for those that are not following me on Instagram):

- Ride Hard by Laura Kaye

5 Stars

I absolutely LOVED this one. I enjoy MC romances most of the time so I was really looking forward to this one and it did not disappoint. It might not be what you would usually expect from an MC romance as the riders here are all good guys and the club is about helping others, but don't you think for a second that will mean less grit to the story. President Dare takes his duties seriously, his father did not, he run a corrupt MC and his brother and mum paid the price for that life. Dare dedicates his life to helping those in need. Haven is one of those. Her father is a horrible human being and he is helping her hide and start a new life. They are very different from each other, but that is what makes them so perfect. Cannot recommend this beauty enough! GO READ IT.

Find the book here: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

- The Last Wolf by Maria Vale

3 Stars

Although this is the first book in the series I actually have already read book 2. And I was still confused... That is the biggest reason for 3 stars and not more. Great paranormal romance. A guy -shifter- who appears to be on the run and a girl -werewolf- who has been cast aside because of her physical difficulties find strength on each other to be and to do better. I loved their relationship, it was perfect. It was all the rest that was confusing an sometimes even unnecessary. Funnily enough that was my exact issue with book 2 - A Wolf Apart, so I think that must just be the authors style. 

Find the book here: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

- Ten Count by Rihito Takarai - Manga, 6 volumes in total

4.5 Stars

I don't read manga often but when I do it is usually some smutty romance that my friend Becky has read before and she either recommended to me or I found in her goodreads list. I remember her recommending this one a while back on her Instagram and decided to finally give it a try. I am very glad that I did. Mental health is a topic that when done well always enchants. Shirotani is afraid of germs and Kurose is a psychiatrist that met Shirotani by accident. Kurose decides to help Shirotani to cure his phobia with exposure therapy and their relationship develops from there. This was by far one of the best Mangas I've ever read.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

- Bartender with Benefits by Mickey Miller

2.5 Stars

Honestly, I only still read Mickey's books because of friends. They aren't bad, they just aren't my cup of tea. This particular series from him I actually really enjoy and I highly recommend the other books. I mean, Biker with Benefits may have a terrible cover but it is a fabulous book!!! And although 2.5 stats doesn't sound good it is not bad either. It simply means the book was very middle of the road for me Neither great or memorable. It is a good late night read if you enjoy the whole fake engagement and friends to lover thing. The main couple here fakes an engagement so that the guy can get a loan to start his own bar. Not bad, just not my thing.

Find the book here: GoodReads 

- Lover Unleashed by JR Ward

4 Stars

This is number 9 in the Black Dagger Brotherhood and really, what is not to love? This series is as popular as it is for a reason: the books are gold. Dr Manni and Payne's relationship developed at a very good pace and they were perfect for each other. I was happy to see Payne find happiness and discover herself after so long locked up with her mother in the sanctuary. It was also really nice to see V heal  from some of his past wounds with the help of Butch. The only negative would be that there was too much of Quinn on a book that is not suppose to be about him. But JR Ward often does that as a set up for future books. I believe his book is book 11? Great read.

Find the book here: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

- The Boyfriend Project by Farrah Rochon

???

I am trying really hard to finish this one. It is not a bad book at all its just that I feel like I've read this story before. The exact same story. I won't say names because that is not nice or necessary but if you move the characters from this book into New York and change their skin color to white the story is very similar to a book I read last year just told a little differently. That bores me. If the author from this other said book, who is white, had written her book after this one she would get a lot of crap for it. I am sure Farrah created her own story here, I am not judging her,  but the book is in part popular because it was released during the height of BLM on the media and I find interesting no one has mentioned a thing about how similar it is to this other author's book. Its a little unfair. And I say this as a person of color myself. And I guess that bothers me a little too. I might finished it, I might not, will see... its basically the story of 3 women who got played by the same guy and vow to support each other and not date for a while. Samaiah meets a new guy at work and sparks fly. But is the new guy for real or too good to be true?

Find the book here: Goodreads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.