Skip to main content

A Wolf Apart by Maria Vale- 3 Stars [arc review]

When was the last time you read a book and just didn't know what to say?
I am a little lost here. The parts of the book that were good were not just good, they were perfect. And the parts that weren't good truly bored me. My emotions and opinions in this book are all over the place and I am struggling to settle on a score...
That being said, one thing is certain: have you seen the book cover? I love it!


A Wolf Apart by Maria Vale

Here is the Blurb for you guys:
Can a human truly make room in her heart for the Wild?
Thea Villalobos has long since given up trying to be what others expect of her. So in Elijah Sorensson she can see through the man of the world to a man who is passionate to the point of heartbreak. But something inside him is dying...

Elijah Sorensson has all kinds of outward success: bespoke suits, designer New York City apartment, women clamoring for his attention. Except Elijah despises the human life he's forced to endure. He's Alpha of his generation of the Great North Pack, and the wolf inside him will no longer be restrained...

The review:
The story is told from Elijah's POV. We get a really good view into who he is and who he wants to be. He is an amazing lawyer with everything a person could ever want at his fingertips. And yet, he is lost an unhappy because all he wants is to go back home and let his wild wolf free. He is tired of pretending to be someone he is not. He is tired of only being able to be his wolf once a month...

Thea is a strong minded girl who contrary to our hero knows exactly who she is and what she wants in her life. She has a very simple lifestyle and is 100% happy with it. All the expensive clothes, parties, and charm of Elijah's rich life do nothing for her. She couldn't care less about all that.

The thing I liked most about their relationship is that it felt real. There were no declarations of love to start. She understood he wasn't happy, she made him feel like himself even on a human skin. His need for her was deep and touching. And Thea was so down to earth and on point about it all.
Not many pnr romances succeed in finding that balance between fantasy and reality and I think Maria Vale did an outstanding job.

One of the things that made me struggle with the book is the constant mention of labels, of social parties, of expensive restaurants... Yah, ok, I understand the need to show how much Elijah dislikes the word he is in and that he is forced to keep up appearances. But that is drilled into the story so hard I found myself skimming through at times. It was just annoying me after a while. And that I'm afraid, is the first half of the book. I was about to give up when things became interesting.

So... a fabulous book! If you can get past the first half without getting annoyed. 




Release date: July 31st, 2018
Find the book at:
AMZ: https://amzn.to/2IM2UYF 
B&N: http://bit.ly/2J4xuvS 
Google: http://bit.ly/2kmNWJL 
ibooks: https://apple.co/2s68k6h 
Ripped Bodice: http://bit.ly/2s8Qe2P

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation