Skip to main content

War Storm by Victoria Aveyard - 2 Stars (Red Queen #4)

Holly Mother of Pearl... this was LONG! This book is a beast, my wrists hurt from holding this massive thing. 
There were a few good things about it but sadly the book felt short, specially the ending. I loved The Red Queen and King's Cage , but Glass Sword and War Storm let the series down big time.

The Story picks up where it left off. Mare and Cal are at odds, she chose her cause and Cal chose the crown. Neither is willing to change for the other. There is an alliance between Reds and the Crown but it is only temporary, while Maven still the enemy to both of them. Cal and Mare know that, they know soon there will come a time they will be enemies again.

There was one saving grace in War Storm and that was Evangeline. Her character grew a lot in the last book and continued to be an interesting addition here. She is clever and the only character to in the end have her priorities in order. While most characters are running around acting like idiots this princess is being logical, straightforward, clever, and most importantly honest with herself (something the other characters really needed to be). She is the sole reason I kept on reading once I realized Maven would be forgotten. 

This book has almost 700 pages and yet it can be told in half that amount, and that is my first problem with it. You would expect, since there is war in all fronts an action packed book but it is not. Most of it is spent inside Mare's head. Mare did grow on me in King's Cage... and now she lost all my respect again. She was a total brat for the most part. There was also far too much 'want you but wont touch you' going on. In how may ways and how many times does the author need to tell us they love each other but picked cause and crown instead of love? It got real boring. 

The second thing that annoyed me -and a lot- is that we don't get to see a lot of Maven. There is less than a handful of chapters on him. Maven is the most in-depth and complex character in the whole series and I needed a lot more of him to enjoy this. There is also his ending... although I believe it should end as it did for him, it could have been better written. She built a lot of climax to that scene and than it was just over, it was rushed and boring. I also wanted more of a glimpse at whom he used to be and I think the whole fandom deserved that. 

Cal... spineless pathetic Cal. He is another character that earned some respect from me in King's Cage and than lost all of it in War Storm. If Maven haven't had his mother mess him up these two brothers would be exactly the same because they both want the crown above all else and anyone else. Although I hated Cal chose the crown over Mare I respected him for it, he thought he was doing the right thing. But the way he proceeded to act afterwards was ridiculous. He wanted the best of both worlds and was pinning and winning the whole time. Give me break and stand by your choices for crying out loud. 

And last but not least the actual ending... that was terrible. I enjoy open endings, I think it makes it all more realistic, but this was just bad. It made Mare come across as a childish little girl. She finally gets all she wants and .... grgrgrgr (sorry, I wont give you guys spoilers. Message me if you want to know more). 

All in all this was not a terrible series, but it was not good either. There were many flaws and I could be a lot more forgiving on them if the books were shorter. Prolonging a plot that has that many flaws makes it all a lot worse. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.