Skip to main content

The Traitor's Ruin by Erin Beaty - 4.5 Stars

This was as lovely as The Traitor's Kiss. If you liked the first book you will like this one just as much. It had a beautiful romance, it was full of the same witty and clever scenes, the same beloved characters, and it had some new ones you won't be able not to fall in love with.
Just like The Traitor's Kiss this is not the kind of book that will pull at your heartstrings and make
you cry, but it is a book that will make you smile. Sage and Alex are an amazing couple and I am so very happy that Erin Beaty has not in any way messed up their relationship. There were hurdles, moments you didn't know if they were going to make it, but nothing that made me love them and their relationship less. Those two made me smile, made me mad, made me scream at them, and it also made me swoon for them, they were infuriating and adorable all at once.

The plot was fast paced. There were threats left from Kimisar and fear of new threats from the Casmuni. Captain Quinn is now the leader of an Elite group of soldiers and Sage managed to, against captain's Quinn's wishes, to tag along for what she thought was their training. Obviously things were not that simple and escalated from there.
I absolutely loved the Casmuni people, from the good ones to the bad ones, every single one of them was written with much care and dedication. 

The ending was sad, I really didn't want that to happen again but it is the nature/consequence of who Sage and Alex are, of what they do, of who they want to be. So although it was sad, it was realistic and I cannot be mad at the author for that. And....there is another book, so this can still be turned around *hoping*

There are also things in the story that are a tad predictable, it is in some ways too similar to the first book. But if you can get on-board with that this will for certain be as much fun to read to you as the The Traitor's kiss was.

Find the Book at:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.