Skip to main content

Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufmann - 2.5 Stars

This pains me more than it pains you. Trust me on that.

I LOVED Illuminae and Gemina. Could not stop raving about it! Obsidio however? nope. Can't say I loved it. The book was predictable from beginning to end and more than once I considered putting it aside and reading something else. Why did I carry on? Because I still love Kady, Hannah, Nik, Ezra, and Ella. Because I needed to know how their stories ended. It was worth it, but gosh it was painful at times!
If you haven't read the blurb yet, here it goes before the full review:
Obsidio, Jay Kristoff-Amie Kaufman

Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives from the attacks on Heimdall station and now find themselves crammed with 2,000 refugees on the container ship, Mao. With the jump station destroyed and their resources scarce, the only option is to return to Kerenza—but who knows what they'll find seven months after the invasion?

Meanwhile, Kady's cousin, Asha, survived the initial BeiTech assault and has joined Kerenza's ragtag underground resistance. When Rhys—an old flame from Asha's past—reappears on Kerenza, the two find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict.

With time running out, a final battle will be waged on land and in space, heroes will fall, and hearts will be broken.
 


Let's start with the good things!! Our beloved characters from Illuminae and Gemina were just as phenomenal and although I clearly did not like the book as a whole our old crew deserves some love. Kady was just as brilliant, Ezra just as brave and full of swagger, Ella just as funny and lovable, Nik and Hannah just as sweet and perfect for each other. They were brilliant! They just, sadly, didn't have enough page time.

Aidan... I didn't understand until this book why people like him. I do now. This was the best version of Aidan yet and I thoroughly enjoy him. I love my anti-heroes and he is the perfect representation of that. He is bad. He murders. He has very little to no conscience. And yet... even though he is an AI, he loves... He is a monster that is very hard not to care for.

Now for the bad... nothing happened for the first 150 pages or so. You get a lot of the new characters and they are very boring. What I remember about Asha now that I am done with the book? that she was working at the hospital. What I remember about Rhys? hum.... he is/was Asha's ex?! these two are forgettable. There was no character building. I just wanted more of the characters we have come to love and found zero need to be introduced to new ones. If at least they were interesting I guess it would have been ok, but no dice. There were many times I considered not continuing and all of those times were on Asha's and/or Rhys' chapters.

Omg the plot 🤦🤦🤦 *face palm* Go back, read Illuminae and Gemina. Are you done? Ok, you than know the plot. Different couple, same/similar background story. So very predictable it hurts. 
The fake deaths will be the death of me.... again? really? On a book where thousands die, where the atrocities of war are shoved on your face every few pages, somehow all 7 teens live against all odds (without a scratch or broken bone may I add). You can shoot them out of the bloody sky and they will still survive. I mean...I am glad they lived, but so so predictable. 

The Illuminae files will have a special place in my heart forever and ever. But sadly what started on a very high note, ended on a very low one for me. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation