Skip to main content

Obsidio by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufmann - 2.5 Stars

This pains me more than it pains you. Trust me on that.

I LOVED Illuminae and Gemina. Could not stop raving about it! Obsidio however? nope. Can't say I loved it. The book was predictable from beginning to end and more than once I considered putting it aside and reading something else. Why did I carry on? Because I still love Kady, Hannah, Nik, Ezra, and Ella. Because I needed to know how their stories ended. It was worth it, but gosh it was painful at times!
If you haven't read the blurb yet, here it goes before the full review:
Obsidio, Jay Kristoff-Amie Kaufman

Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives from the attacks on Heimdall station and now find themselves crammed with 2,000 refugees on the container ship, Mao. With the jump station destroyed and their resources scarce, the only option is to return to Kerenza—but who knows what they'll find seven months after the invasion?

Meanwhile, Kady's cousin, Asha, survived the initial BeiTech assault and has joined Kerenza's ragtag underground resistance. When Rhys—an old flame from Asha's past—reappears on Kerenza, the two find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict.

With time running out, a final battle will be waged on land and in space, heroes will fall, and hearts will be broken.
 


Let's start with the good things!! Our beloved characters from Illuminae and Gemina were just as phenomenal and although I clearly did not like the book as a whole our old crew deserves some love. Kady was just as brilliant, Ezra just as brave and full of swagger, Ella just as funny and lovable, Nik and Hannah just as sweet and perfect for each other. They were brilliant! They just, sadly, didn't have enough page time.

Aidan... I didn't understand until this book why people like him. I do now. This was the best version of Aidan yet and I thoroughly enjoy him. I love my anti-heroes and he is the perfect representation of that. He is bad. He murders. He has very little to no conscience. And yet... even though he is an AI, he loves... He is a monster that is very hard not to care for.

Now for the bad... nothing happened for the first 150 pages or so. You get a lot of the new characters and they are very boring. What I remember about Asha now that I am done with the book? that she was working at the hospital. What I remember about Rhys? hum.... he is/was Asha's ex?! these two are forgettable. There was no character building. I just wanted more of the characters we have come to love and found zero need to be introduced to new ones. If at least they were interesting I guess it would have been ok, but no dice. There were many times I considered not continuing and all of those times were on Asha's and/or Rhys' chapters.

Omg the plot 🤦🤦🤦 *face palm* Go back, read Illuminae and Gemina. Are you done? Ok, you than know the plot. Different couple, same/similar background story. So very predictable it hurts. 
The fake deaths will be the death of me.... again? really? On a book where thousands die, where the atrocities of war are shoved on your face every few pages, somehow all 7 teens live against all odds (without a scratch or broken bone may I add). You can shoot them out of the bloody sky and they will still survive. I mean...I am glad they lived, but so so predictable. 

The Illuminae files will have a special place in my heart forever and ever. But sadly what started on a very high note, ended on a very low one for me. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.