Skip to main content

The Pull of The Stars by Emma Donoghue

A lone nurse in a maternity ward during the flu pandemic of 1918

I don’t often read general fiction. But when I do, it is often Emma Donoghue. Her books Room and Akin where great stories and I was certain so would The Pull of the Stars be. I was not disappointed. I was enthralled by it from beginning to end and I hope you all love it as much as I did! 

The book takes place during the height of the great flu pandemic and is almost entirely set in a little room, turned maternity ward, at an Irish hospital. Nurse Julia Power, due to many members of staff falling ill themselves ends up solely responsible for the pregnant mothers in that room. All assistance she gets is from a young girl who never helped in a hospital before and Dr. Kathleen Lynn, a rumored rebel on the run from the police. She immediately proves to be a lot more responsible and knowledgeable than the young male doctor in the hospital. 
Three days… that is the entirety of the book. And yet, so much happens. It was an emotional journey. Almost entirely on her own, Nurse Julia has to combat influenza and try to deliver healthy babies without losing their mothers. Sadly I cannot tell you that her days were wholly successful. Some battles she won, some she lost. You will find yourself surprisingly captivated by all the many different issues and difficulties Nurse Julia faces trying to save the lives under her care. 
Even though the struggles at that maternity ward would have been enough to keep you on your toes while reading, Emma Donoghue also brings to light other social issues- the aversion to contraception, social pressure to give away your baby if you are unmarried, sexual and physical abuse, a sadly high maternity mortality rate, the pandemic itself, and the horrors of the war. Nurse Julia’s own brother comes back from it unable to speak.
Although The Pull of the Stars is a fiction novel as a whole, it is mixed in with real events and testimonies. The female doctor, Kathleen Lynn, was very much a real person. Dr. Lynn was a pioneer of her time. She helped combat the influenza pandemic of 1918 and later founded her own children’s hospital. She even came to win a seat in the new Irish Parliament in 1923. 

Find the book at : Inklings Bookshop


Comments

  1. Your contents are completely awesome and share worthy. I really appreciate your efforts that you put on this. Keep sharing. For more Doctor Burleigh Heads related information visit Medical on Miami

    ReplyDelete
  2. I found your blog on Google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. You can also visit travel vaccine elanora for more The Pines Family Practice related information and knowledge, Keep up the great work Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation