Skip to main content

Vows in Name Only (Billionaires of Boston #1) by Naima Simone


Can Naima Simone ever do wrong? If you actually have to ask or wonder what the answer is than you either have not read anything by her before or you just haven't read enough. The answer is obvious and easy: Hell to the No!

I was introduced to the Queen of Smut (aka- @naimasimoneauthor) in 2018 with Sin and Ink and it has been a wonderful ride ever since. I have a favorite of-course: Passion and Ink, but ALL her books are amazing. There is the trademark smut (she does not claim this as a trademark, I do for her, and love it!), there is passion, there is angst, there is swoon worthy romance, and the characters, main and secondary, are all impossible not to love. And that is not a comment just on Vows in Name Only, or only the books mentioned above, but on all her books. 

Blurb:

An arranged marriage neither wants, but both soon crave… from USA TODAY bestselling author Naima Simone!

Manipulated into a marriage of inconvenience,
until one sizzling kiss changes everything…


Devon Cole must marry Cain Farrell or lose everything. But she can never let her billionaire husband-to-be know why she agreed to her father’s dangerous machinations. Just as she’ll never know her father is blackmailing Cain to tie the knot, too. What kind of marriage can Devon even expect from a man with such cold eyes…and such hot kisses? She’s about to find out.

The Review: 5 Stars

As most of you know I have a huge soft spot for broody and moody male characters. And well, Cain makes many moody-broody characters out there look like child's play. The man can make you swallow dry with just a look. Even worse, just reading about said look (*insert laugh emoji here. Me thinks I'm funny).

And Devon... she is everything I can't stand on a female character and yet I am disgusted at myself right now because I loved the woman. WTF? She is a tad spineless to start letting her father pretty much sell her. I hate that. Except that her reasons melted my cold bitchy heart. Could she have told Cain what was going on sooner? sure... but how was she to know if she could trust the cold guy that promised her hell? It's kind of understandable. 

Their relationship and chemistry developed beautifully and it was as a steamy smut affair. I wouldn't change a thing. The angst was seriously intense. Cain has a lot to deal with, his dad was a monster of a man. But, he did with his death gave Cain two brothers. It is not a good relationship to start, understandably so, but it will make you cry (or at least shed a tear) towards the end. I am not a book crier... but in every darn Naima Simone book... I kind of hate her for it... You know, that kind of hate that makes the saying "love and hate go hand-in-hand" so apt. 

In short: Why are you still here? GO READ!

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop (free US shipping) - GoodReads







Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.