Skip to main content

King's Cage by Victoria Aveyard- 4 Stars

Gosh it was slow.... Good, but also very very very slow.
Glass Sword and King's Cage could have been one book rather than two. A lot of repetition. It dragged on and on and on... 
Red Queen still my favorite book in the series. King's Cage comes close second.

And the ending... ?! soooooo angry!!!!!

Maven was an amazing character.  We learnt a lot more of him in King's Cage. Victoria Aveyard gave us a little pick into his mind. We get moments where we see his fragility, the explanation for his brokenness... He is such a wonderful beautiful character, my favorite for sure. Okay, he is evil and I will not deny that. He is not a good person. But there is a reason for it, and I can't help but love the boy and feel bad for him. Can you imagine someone stripping you of your essence? He is proof monsters are made, one is not born that way. He will never be good, he is darkness itself (not unless someone really powerful fixes years of damage done to his poor brain anyway... And as of now such person does not exist). In a way, I think he deserves more than Mare. And in turn, Mare deserves more than Cal. He is a clever King too.

So... Cal... He is extremely naive. 
I can't really tell exactly what I think of him without giving the ending away. Truly.... I wrote my opinion of him three times now and I always end up saying too much. He is Prince Tiberias the Seventh, an idiot, and I hate him! For a moment, a few chapters, I had hope for him. Obviously that did not last. Go read the book and you will know why.

Mare grows a lot on this book. Really a lot! I am rather impressed with her development. Mare goes through hell and does not let it define her or take her down. Its hard for her, she struggles, but she never gives up. The book spends a whole lot of time exploring her feelings and her development into a heroine worth our time (part of why it gets so boring and repetitive at times, worth it in the end? maybe a little). Mare fights, and she fights with all she is and all she has. She fights with her mind when she cannot fight with her body. She fights with her body when her mind cannot. She fights with her abilities when she finally gets it back. 

The secondary characters are wonderful, we just don't get enough of them. Farley is the strongest woman out there. Kilorn doesn't show up much, but when he does you can't help but feel at home. He gives us the readers the same feeling of unison that he gives the characters in the book. Evangeline is a surprise. A big surprise. Can you believe I am actually looking forward to reading more on her?

Many were heartbroken with the ending. I was just pissed. Real angry. Victoria Aveyard did a great job with that ending. It made up for all the slow motion crap from the beginning of the book. 

I cannot give more than 4 stars for two reason: one, because it was slow. But two, and more important than one, was that Maven disappeared a third into the book. I can't tell you why without giving the story away... it annoyed me though. You can't just disappear with such an important character. She didn't do that to Cal and the others when the focus was on Maven, so why do that when it is the other way around? Frustrating.  

The best lines in the book are all Maven's. Obvs.!
"Love makes you weak. And she is right. I learned that before I even knew you."
"Those who know what is like in the dark will do anythings to stay in the light"
" 'Don't act like we are the same' 'The same? No.' He shakes his head. 'But perhaps...we are even'"?

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.