Skip to main content

By Your Side by Kasie West- 3 stars

This book came with my February's subscription to UpperCase (the picture above is of all the february's box contents).
I LOVE uppercase, cannot say that enough. But I was a little hesitant when I saw the book. Sounded rather generic and average. I was both proven right and wrong while reading By Your Side.
Right, because yes, it was just another silly underdeveloped romance. But wrong because it was rather sweet and I did very much like the male character.

I don't think the book was so middle of the road as to deserve a 3 star rating. But it wasn't as good as some other books I have given 4 stars. The story was predictable, but at the same time entertaining. Average, but also sweet. Generic with hints of greatness...
The female character was rather boring. I wrote my short review (I always write a very short one for GoodReads) the day after I finished the book, and at that point I had already forgotten the female character's name. So.... that should tell you something.
The main male character however, Dax, and also both 'minor' male characters were very well written and I rather liked them all. He had depth, a background story one could relate and/or feel for. His character together with the other boys saved the book from a low scoring.
Dax was sarcastic, a bit on the tortured side, a little rude at times... I was head over hills reading the first half of the book. Sadly the second half concentrated more on the very so boring female character. The author lost an amazing opportunity there.
The plot is a okay, the love story is sweet enough. But the first half of the book makes little sense at times. For example, how many libraries do you know without emergency exits? I work in a library guys!!! That doesn't exist. Safety and all.... Or without a phone? Its a public building and therefore rare.

But here is the book's biggest problem (for bookworms at least): Don't you book lover love the idea of a book based on two people locked in the library? what if someone granted you that wish and than proceeded to write a book where no one cares about books? grgrgrgr.... it was sad.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b