Skip to main content

UpperCase vs OwlCrate

I should start by making it clear I have been an UpperCase  subscriber for a while and that I love them! My love affair with UpperCase is not yet a year long, but it is close. In that time, I have only been disappointed with the box once. 
There have surely been books I did not give 5 stars, but I will not judge a book box subscription on that. The YA category encompasses a rather large variety of genres and it is impossible to please every subscriber every month. For example: one of the books I was not a fan of was Vassa in the Night. Almost all my bookstagrammer followers however loved that book...

Now for this month's subscription comparisons
UpperCase  vs OwlCrate:



UpperCase contents ($23.00box+$6.50delivery=$29.50) :
Jane Austen socks by SockSmith;
Gold Foil Book Stack Art Print by Belle Adele Co;
Book Hoarder Sticker by Alexis Lampley;
Hunted Bookmark;
Hunted by Meagan Spooner, Signed!



OwlCrate contents ($29.99box+$6.99 delivery=$36.98):
Pendant Necklace by The Geeky Cauldron;
Mermaid Washi tape by Simply Gilded;
Notepad Octopus print by Boygirlparty;
Hand printed tea towel from Kitch Studios
The Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller with letter, temp. tattoo and signed bookplate.

Rating for UpperCase March: 5 out of 5
Rating for OwlCrate March: 3.5 out of 5

UpperCase Overview: Uppercase has done it again! Gosh, I am so happy! Specially after last month's box... Remember how I said just a few lines earlier that there has been only one time I was disappointed with UpperCase? That was last month. But let's not talk about that. Every month prior was absolutely amazing and March is no different. 
I was planing on buying the book. What an amazing surprise!!!! I am very much looking forward to it. Oh, and as always with Uppercase, the book is signed. BONUS!!!! The page inside is shinny, and beautiful, and signed ... Did I say beautiful and signed? 
And the little extras did not disappoint! Did you see those cute socks? LOVED it!
The art print is gorgeous. This picture does not give it justice. 
Also love the book hoarder sticker. It is going to sit right next to my book addict sticker- also from UpperCase :) 
Uppercase may not have as many things as OwlCrate, but usually that is not something to be sad about because the few things they send, as you can see, are gorgeous!

OwlCrate Overview: Considering the price difference one would expect OwlCrate to always have the most amazing boxes in comparison to UpperCase. Although they at times have a thing or two that reflects the price (funkos being one of them), that is not always the case. And sadly, definitely not the case this month! Don't get me wrong, it is a good box, but it does not reflect its price tag. I am very good and very careful with my money, so that is a big negative to me and it is rather hard to  get past it whenever it happens. It is also the main reason why I do not subscribe to OwlCrate. If I get their box, it is a one off box here and there. 
I have never heard of the book, but I am looking forward to reading it. It sounds interesting. Rather disappointed that the book is not signed. That is definitely something that UpperCase has going for them. I do not care for a signed little piece of paper (bottom left corner of the picture). Sorry OwlCrate, but signed books are just way better. Every time I move my books either to rearrange shelves or for photo-shoots I will worry I will lose that paper.
The little extras were nice, but not amazing. I loved the necklace, adorable!!! As for everything else... meh... nice, but not fabulous. Would swap all those small things for one nice thing. Or even just for a better quality towel. The towel is pretty, but its cheap. Not cool. 

All in all, both boxes are good. But the fact the book is signed alone makes UpperCase Superior. Even if this OwlCrate box had its usual amazing contents (because lets be honest, OwlCrate is usually epic), I still would prefer UpperCase so I could get the signed book. Sadly that is not the only issue. The box this month does not reflect its price. A little notebook, a washi tape and a cheap towel do not top the cutest socks ever and the beautiful art print! 

I'm an UpperCase girl! All the Way!



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.