Skip to main content

Fighting for Irish (Fighting for Love #3) by Gina L. Maxwell

Three books down in 2019 so far, all older releases, and all amazing books!
I love reviewing arcs (and my next read just happens to be one), but there is something special about finding an older book by an author you love. I am really enjoying the Fighting for Love series. It is not what I expected from Gina after reading the Playboys in Love series, but not in a bad way. It is steamy but also sweet, specially this one. Do I prefer it over Playboys in Love? never LOL Roman from Ruthless has me till end of time. But, he does have stiff competition, Irish was fab!

The Blurb:

He'll fight for her life. She'll fight for his love.

Kat MacGregor has forty-eight hours to make good on the debt her ex-boyfriend owes a crime boss. Unfortunately, the measly tips she makes waitressing are barely enough for her to live on, much less cover the twenty-thousand needed to keep her breathing. With time running out, Kat 's forced to accept help from the only man who's ever made her feel fire rather than fear.

When he learns a friend's sister is in trouble, former Boston MMA fighter Aiden "Irish" O'Brien heads to Louisiana to offer himself up as collateral to keep her safe. But to satisfy the debt, he has to do the one thing he swore hed never do again: fight. With more than just money on the line, will Irish have what it takes to not only reclaim the man he once was, but become the man he needs to be for the woman he can't live without?


5 Stars

Fighting for Irish was a sweet and indulgent read. That was not how I felt while I was reading it though. It definitely has some triggers not everyone would feel comfortable with, and since I know at least two of my readers that fall into that category--> please beware this book has scenes with sexual abuse. 
Still though, even with that and all the fighting the feeling I was left with at the end was that of utter contentment and satisfaction. I have no idea how Gina pulled that off -hail to all amazing writers of the world- but the book was equal parts intensity, heat, drama, and pure freaking honey! 🤣 That may not make sense to you, but it does to me... so... just roll with it! 

Kat was a fabulous broken beautiful character. Her demons are soul crashing and it is a miracle the girl is not completely messed up. I loved her fighting spirit.
And Irish... goodness... he was perfection. Understanding and kind while dealing with his own nightmares.
Those two were perfect for each other.
Go Read Sunnies! 

Review for the first book: Seducing Cinderella
Find Fighting for Irish: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation