Skip to main content

The Conspiracy (Maximum Security #1) by Kat Martin [arc review]

Do you like romantic suspense? If so, this might just be what you are looking for.
I can't say I often read romantic suspense, but it is nice to have a break from the routine and read something different every now and than.
Here is the Blurb for you:
Harper Winston’s brother has disappeared. Pursuing his dream of sailing the Caribbean, Michael hasn’t responded to texts or emails in days. When even the Coast Guard can’t find him, Harper is forced to take desperate measures. Which means going to Chase Garrett, once her brother’s best friend, now the only man she can trust…or so she hopes.

As the successful owner of Maximum Security, Chase has learned to trust his gut. He knows Harper’s father is mixed up in a deadly business, and suspects there’s more to Michael’s disappearance than meets the eye. Getting involved again with the Winstons goes against everything he stands for, yet old loyalties die hard. As the case draws him closer to Harper and deeper into the Winstons’ snarled crime family, he is forced to put everything on the line to keep Harper safe…and both of them alive.
 


3 Stars

Harper was a fabulous female lead. She made a name for herself apart from her filthy rich father and has became very successful. She is willing to fight for those she loves and doesn't give up easily. 
And it is with that mentality that the story starts. Harper's brother is missing and she needs help finding him. She contracts Chase for the job.

Chase was a good character too, but I didn't like him all the time. He was a bit of a self-righteous prick. Not in a broody alpha male sort of way - which I often like - but rather in an arrogant fashion. He wouldn't have a relationship with Harper because of who her father was, not even friendship. 
In the end he gives in and tries to fight for her and I kind of forgave him for being a prick. But rightly so, Harper doesn't forgive immediately. 

The mystery and suspense side of it was ok. The first half of the book is about her brother being taken and I liked the way the story unfolded. There were a few chapters told from Harper's brother's POV and I thought that was clever. Made us connect with all the characters involved and gave us a little glimpse into what was going on all around. The second half of the book focuses on Harper and the man that are after her. I didn't like that as much. It was almost as if this was two books in one. 

The secondary characters were fine. There is none really that stood out for me.

Overall I really enjoyed the book. But I find that romantic suspense is often too predictable. Don't get me wrong, every good romance is somewhat predictable, specially if you are into HEAs- which I am. But when you can tell every twist and turn before it happens the story becomes a tab boring. As a teen I would only read mysteries and suspense, I loved it. And although I still like it on occasion, this book reminded me why I stopped reading them, I find them too predictable. 

Release Date: January 22nd 2019
Find the Book at: GoodReads - Amazon

*this arc was kindly provided by the Harlequin Publicity Team. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation