Skip to main content

Home at Chestnut Creek (Chestnut Creek #2) by Laura Drake [arc review]

Home at Chestnut Creek by Laura drake. Pic by  @glimpses_of_my_books
From an award-winning author who "writes real cowboys with heart and soul" (Carolyn Brown, New York Times bestselling author) comes an unforgettable western romance about two strangers who learn that home is where the heart is. . .

Blurb:
First rule of life on the run: never get attached. Nevada Sweet knows that better than anyone-it's just too dangerous to stay put. And until now, she's never wanted to. But she gets more than she bargained for when she walks into the Chestnut Creek Café looking for a job. Despite the protective wall she's built, her coworker Joseph has her imagining a life she isn't yet convinced she deserves...

While Unforgiven, New Mexico has always been home, Joseph "Fishing Eagle" King still feels like an outsider-no matter how much he tries to give back to his Navajo community. Beneath Nevada's biting wit, he glimpses a similar vulnerability. Against all odds, Joseph finds himself falling for her, and it's clear she's not as unaffected as she pretends. When her past finally catches up with her, she'll have to decide whether to keep running, or fight for what's hers.


The Review: 5 Stars

This was a lovely surprise. I have never read anything by Laura Drake but I certainly will now. The book had an amazing romance, the main characters had great personality and fantastic chemistry, the side characters were superb. It was a short little book that packed a punch.

Nevada is very closed off, a little rude, and prefers to be alone. Or at least that is what she wants everyone to thinks. After a while in Unforgiven she knows she has to leave but without wanting she has come to care for its people, one in particular.

Joseph has made mistakes in his past and is trying to atone for his sins. His feelings for Nevada make things complicated.

I loved how their flaws were not diminished or overly explained, that is just who they were. She liked him for who he was and the same the other way around.

The descriptions of the Navajo culture made for an interesting read. If they are accurate or not, I wouldn't be able to tell. What I can say is that it added a nice touch to the story.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation