Skip to main content

Say No to the Duke: The Wildes of Lindow Castle (The Wildes of Lindow Castle #4) by Eloisa James [arc review- audio book]

What is not to love about a well written, funny, and charming historical romance?

Blurb:
One little wager will determine their fate—a daring escape or falling into temptation with a rakish lord. 

Lady Betsy Wilde’s first season was triumphant by any measure, and a duke has proposed—but before marriage, she longs for one last adventure.

No gentleman would agree to her scandalous plan—but Lord Jeremy Roden is no gentleman. He offers a wager. If she wins a billiards game, he’ll provide the breeches.

If he wins…she is his, for one wild night.

But what happens when Jeremy realizes that one night will never be enough? In the most important battle of his life, he’ll have to convince Betsy to say no to the duke.


The review: 5 Stars

Betsy was an easy character to relate too. She longs to be independent and be able to do and say the same things any other man can. Wearing breeches and bidding at auction houses to name a few. She is determined and brave and unwilling to settle. 
At the same time she is afraid she has inherited some of her mothers less than desirable traits and spends every day of her life pretending to be someone she is not. Except with Jeremy. There is no need for that with him, he doesn't care, he doesn't look at her the same way the others do and he has no expectations.

Jeremy is in pain, a lot of pain. Darkness consumes his every waking thought, and he is always awake... He lost every man under him at war and is struggling to let the past go. Betsy's friendship helps. Her honesty is refreshing and her courage makes him stronger.

More than anything it is their friendship that makes this a beautiful book to read. Jeremy needed a friend that wouldn't pity him or treat him differently because of his ptsd. A friend that would pester him when needed and defend him when necessary. Betsy was that friend. 
She also needed a friend, one that wouldn't laugh at the things she wanted to accomplish and her crazy ideas, a companion. Jeremy was that for her. That their friendship turned into something else was inevitable. 

I had no idea Say No to the Duke was book 4 in a series when I started reading, I actually only realized that tiny little fact now, when I sat to write the review. So needless to say, this works great as a stand alone.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation