Skip to main content

Forever and a Duke (Rogues to Riches #3) by Grace Burrowes

Forever and a Duke, Grace Burrowes. Pic by @glimpses_of_my_books
Where to begin? Grace Burrowes is a master of her craft. If historical romance is something you enjoy reading she is one of those authors that can never fail. On top of that, The Rogues and Riches series happens to be a favorite of mine. Needless to say, I loved the book :)
Blurb:
Wrexham, Duke of Elsmore, is overrun by family obligations. With three sisters to escort about Town, a legion of cousins to look after, and aunties who insist he dance with every eligible young woman, he barely has time to manage his dukedom. When he finally carves out a moment to evaluate his family's finances, he learns that he―and his sisters―are on the verge of social catastrophe.

Eleanora Hatfield has an uncanny knack for numbers, but she knows from experience that dealing with the peerage can only lead to problems. Though she wants nothing to do with any titled gentleman, she reluctantly agrees to help when Rex seeks aid from her employer. What starts out as an unwanted assignment soon leads to forbidden kisses and impossible longings. But with scandal haunting Ellie's past and looming in Rex's future, how can true love lead to anything but heartbreak?

The Review: 3.9 Stars
I know 3.9 sounds petty, but I gave the first book 4 and I certainly prefer it to this one. 
So petty if you must... but also fair!

There are many things that make this a great story, and although the book can easily be read as a stand alone, I confess that one of my favorite things about Forever and a Duke were the short but oh so lovely scenes with Quinn and his lovely wife (My one and Only Duke)! 

Eleanora's tenacity, strength, and intelligence is to be respected. Life has not always treated her well but she has done and continues to do all she can to leave it behind her. She works hard to be respected for what she does and is brilliant at it. It is difficult not to be impressed by her and so it is understandable that Rex was taken by her.

Rex snuck up on me. I wasn't sure what to think about him to start. His relationship and blind trust on his family seemed a little misplaced to me and a tad strange. But as Eleanora and so me, the reader, gets to know him falling in love is inevitable. He is loyal, trustworthy, gentle, but also a fighter. I liked how he dealt with things in the end and appreciated him for it. 

The only negative is that it got a little long at times. I don't particularly enjoy when things get repeated too often and we got to go over Rex's finances a few times too many. A third POV was added as well, although I understand why the author did it I can't say I enjoyed it.
But those are small details, they were in no way bad enough to make me want to stop reading.
This was another great historical romance by Grace Burrowes and it will undoubtedly make to the list of 2019 favorites.

Go Read Sunnies!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.