Skip to main content

Forever and a Duke (Rogues to Riches #3) by Grace Burrowes

Forever and a Duke, Grace Burrowes. Pic by @glimpses_of_my_books
Where to begin? Grace Burrowes is a master of her craft. If historical romance is something you enjoy reading she is one of those authors that can never fail. On top of that, The Rogues and Riches series happens to be a favorite of mine. Needless to say, I loved the book :)
Blurb:
Wrexham, Duke of Elsmore, is overrun by family obligations. With three sisters to escort about Town, a legion of cousins to look after, and aunties who insist he dance with every eligible young woman, he barely has time to manage his dukedom. When he finally carves out a moment to evaluate his family's finances, he learns that he―and his sisters―are on the verge of social catastrophe.

Eleanora Hatfield has an uncanny knack for numbers, but she knows from experience that dealing with the peerage can only lead to problems. Though she wants nothing to do with any titled gentleman, she reluctantly agrees to help when Rex seeks aid from her employer. What starts out as an unwanted assignment soon leads to forbidden kisses and impossible longings. But with scandal haunting Ellie's past and looming in Rex's future, how can true love lead to anything but heartbreak?

The Review: 3.9 Stars
I know 3.9 sounds petty, but I gave the first book 4 and I certainly prefer it to this one. 
So petty if you must... but also fair!

There are many things that make this a great story, and although the book can easily be read as a stand alone, I confess that one of my favorite things about Forever and a Duke were the short but oh so lovely scenes with Quinn and his lovely wife (My one and Only Duke)! 

Eleanora's tenacity, strength, and intelligence is to be respected. Life has not always treated her well but she has done and continues to do all she can to leave it behind her. She works hard to be respected for what she does and is brilliant at it. It is difficult not to be impressed by her and so it is understandable that Rex was taken by her.

Rex snuck up on me. I wasn't sure what to think about him to start. His relationship and blind trust on his family seemed a little misplaced to me and a tad strange. But as Eleanora and so me, the reader, gets to know him falling in love is inevitable. He is loyal, trustworthy, gentle, but also a fighter. I liked how he dealt with things in the end and appreciated him for it. 

The only negative is that it got a little long at times. I don't particularly enjoy when things get repeated too often and we got to go over Rex's finances a few times too many. A third POV was added as well, although I understand why the author did it I can't say I enjoyed it.
But those are small details, they were in no way bad enough to make me want to stop reading.
This was another great historical romance by Grace Burrowes and it will undoubtedly make to the list of 2019 favorites.

Go Read Sunnies!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b