Skip to main content

Best Romance Reads of 2019

The Girl He Used to Know

Can you believe is that time of the year again? For the last few years I have been unable to find one favorite book for the year and gave you all one or two choices a month. I will do that this year again, however, there was ONE book (out of 145) that stood out from all the others this year for me. One with a story I could not forget and that I even managed to get non-romance readers to give a try! 

*for you with sensitivities, there is a picture of a butt somewhere in this post.... just saying...

Best of 2019:



That being said, bellow is my 2019 favorites recap, some new titles, some older ones, some rereads!
There is a review on my blog for all of them, so just click on the title to read my thoughts on a particular book. 



Darkest Heart
January

This was the month of favorite re-reads! 
Darkest Hear by the fabulous Juliette Cross, PNR queen on the making right there! (quote pictured)

- Lover Awakened by JR Ward. I actually gave you a link to Goodreads. First time I read this beauty was out of order and I was sooo confused. Yet, as you see on my review, I loved it anyway, now I just love it even more. 

Silver Silence
February

- Silver Silence by Nalini Singh. I haven't checked yet by I suspect her name will show up a few times in this years list...

Can't Text This
March
New to me author :)
- Can't Text This by Teagan Hunter

April
Another new to me author.
- The Rose by Tiffany Reisz 

The Rose
Told you we would see queen Nalini here again! :)
- Ocean Light by Nalini Singh

May
May wasn't a bad month, out of the 12 books I've read only one was bad, but there were no 5 star reads...

Kingdom of Exiles
June
Best book of the Year!!!!

June was a great month though. Here is another worthy mention:
Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh. 3rd time lucky on our little list for Nalini :)

And a debut author worthy of note:
Kingdom of Exiles by Maxym M Martineau
Say no to The Duke
42785828
Home at Chestnut Creek

July
A Historical! They don't often make into my yearly lists...
Say No to the Duke by Eloisa James 

It has been the year of Cowboy romances and I have found a favorite!
Home at Chestnut Creek by Laura Drake

Some Like it Scandalous 
August
One more Historical! It has been a fabulous year for historical romance actually, there were a few other 5 stars besides the ones that made the cut for my yearly list. If I were to pic a second favorite book for the year though I think this one would probably be it :) 

42870109. sy475
Unbreak Me
Some like it Scandalous by Maya Rodale

September
This one although I have the paper copy I actually listened to on Libro.fm and it being on this list will have a lot to do with its narrator. Never underestimate the power a narrator has over your audio book, I am honestly half in love with the narrator for this one! 
Unbreak Me by Michelle Hazen

43189874. sy475
Well Met
The other favorites for September were series catch ups/rereads by JR Ward: Father Mine and Lover Avenged. 

October
15 books read in October, one 5 star, and although a great book, not worthy of the yearly list...

November
- Well Met by Jen DeLuca
Points for originality on this one and it was the favorite of the year for my romance book club in town!

December
I was sick for most of December and didn't read much at all. The arc for Wolf Gone Wild by Juliette Cross definitely impressed but that is a 2020 book so not really fair to add here. Even though this alone kind of adds it... 🙈


This is it sunnies! 
Although I read a good amount this year I have to say it was rather easy to put this list together. My favorites for the year aren't always 5 stars, but rather the most memorable stories. If I gave it a 5 but can't remember it without reading the blurb, it doesn't make the list. And that is the thing with 2019, although I read many 5 star books, not many were memorable. THESE were ALL memorable. I can chat about them with customers at the store easily even though it has been months since I read some of them.

Hope you enjoyed my little list and found some new reads! 

Have a fabulous 2020!   

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b