Skip to main content

Kingdom of Exiles (The Beast Charmer #1) by Maxym M. Martineau [arc review]

Apparently Maxym M. Martineau is a debut author...
Can all debut authors write fabulous stories like this please?
Thanks :)
Needless to say----> 5 Stars!!!


Kingdom of Exiles by Maxym Martineau and my little beast
-except she is more likely to lick your face than cause harm-
The Blurb:

Exiled beast charmer Leena Edenfrell is in deep trouble. Empty pockets forced her to sell her beloved magical beasts on the black market—an offense punishable by death—and now there's a price on her head. With the realm's most talented murderer-for-hire nipping at her heels, Leena makes him an offer he can't refuse: powerful mythical creatures in exchange for her life.

If only it were that simple. Unbeknownst to Leena, the undying ones are bound by magic to complete their contracts, and Noc cannot risk his brotherhood of assassins...not even to save the woman he can no longer live without. 


The Review: 5 Glorious Stars!

WOW! What an amazing read! I wouldn't have guess Maxym Martineau is a debut author just by reading the book. 
Was it perfect? No. But I find high fantasy and paranormal books starting off a series almost never are. It is hard to set a new world, with new rules, magic, etc., and tell a love story all at once. And so, it was a little difficult to get into. But once you get through those first few pages the story takes off into a brilliant and awe striking new world. 

I usually start off by talking a little about the main characters, this time we will go for the beasts! Their descriptions, world setting, personalities, all of it... were outstanding! It is not often I end a book with the deep desire to make it all real and be the main protagonist myself... but oh how much I would love to be a charmer and have my own set of charming animals! It was all enchanting.

Noc was also enchanting! My heart bled for him. To not be able to either have or show deep emotions is a horrible and sad way to live. He makes do the only way he can by constantly keeping his distance from everyone (or trying to). His constant change from icy cold assassin to a curious lovable man made him a very interesting, approachable, and memorable character to read. 

Leena's story is also not the happiest. She is not naive or stupid, she just trusted the wrong person and paid for it. Now she is trying to make the most of it. The friendship she makes and the family she finds with the assassins was unexpected.

ALL secondary characters were fabulous. Specially the other assassins. I sincerely hope that all other books in this series focuses on them.

GO READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!

Release Date: June 25th 
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Author's Website


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation