Skip to main content

My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren [audio book]

I love Christina Lauren and I never thought I would have to write a review less than positive for one of their books. But, here we are... I both loved it and hated it!

Blurb:

Millie Morris has always been one of the guys. A UC Santa Barbara professor, she’s a female-serial-killer expert who’s quick with a deflection joke and terrible at getting personal. And she, just like her four best guy friends and fellow professors, is perma-single.



So when a routine university function turns into a black tie gala, Mille and her circle make a pact that they’ll join an online dating service to find plus-ones for the event. There’s only one hitch: after making the pact, Millie and one of the guys, Reid Campbell, secretly spend the sexiest half-night of their lives together, but mutually decide the friendship would be better off strictly platonic.

But online dating isn’t for the faint of heart. While the guys are inundated with quality matches and potential dates, Millie’s first profile attempt garners nothing but dick pics and creepers. Enter “Catherine”—Millie’s fictional profile persona, in whose make-believe shoes she can be more vulnerable than she’s ever been in person. Soon “Catherine” and Reid strike up a digital pen-pal-ship...but Millie can’t resist temptation in real life, either. Soon, Millie will have to face her worst fear—intimacy—or risk losing her best friend, forever.


The Review: 2.5 Stars

The book had some awesome moments. The friendship between Millie, Reid, Ed, Alex, and Christopher was really well written and I am sure many of us reading it were even a little jealous of such a close group of friends. Their banter, games, and acceptance of each others strengths and faults had me both laughing and swimming in a sea of envy 💛
Once all secrets are out in the end of the book the story becomes rather emotional there for a while too, and that was nice.

There were so many instances during the book where I seriously consider not finishing it though...and that is never a good thing. 
Millie drove me insane. Catfishing your best friend? and for that long? In what planet is that ok? I understood why she did it but it made the whole 'romance' feel off the whole time. Maybe if they weren't sleeping together as well it would have been better. As it was it all felt like a poor planed game. And it doesn't help I didn't like her personality either. She was dishonest to everyone, including herself.

Reid was pathetic and awesome all at once. I liked his character, he was fun, intuitive, a good friend... but he was also pathetic for not seeing what is right in front of him. And why oh why did C Lauren wrote an intimate scene between Reid and Millie followed by a message to 'another' woman?!?!? His character is portrayed the whole time as trustworthy and noble and than that? It made no sense and it got me rather ticked off.

All in all I liked the friendships, I liked the other boys, for the most part I loved Reid... I never liked Millie though and the 'romance' (if we can even call it that) was messed up. Where they truly in love? The book ended and I still don't know... 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

  1. I ended up not finishing it because I also found Millie to be annoying and both Reid and Millie seemed really clueless.However, I enjoyed the "Non- Honeymooners" so I won't give up on reading CL yet.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation