Skip to main content

Never Fall in Love with a Rockstar by Rachel Higginson [arc review]

Never Fall n Love with a Rockstar
I have a weakness for Rock Star Romances...
So needless to say, there was a good chance I was going to love this from the gecko.
And love it I did!!!

Blurb:
My name is Clover Calloway and I’ve lived two separate lives. 

The first, I like to call “my past.” I never talk about it. I try not to think about it. My rockstar days of playing in one of the hottest bands on the planet are over. Along with the most volatile, beautiful, tragic love story of all time. 

Over the past five years, I’ve settled into my second life. My “normal life.” The one where I work a normal job, hang out with normal people and fall in love with a normal, but wonderful guy. The life where I’m admittedly a little bored, but also safe. 

My past wasn’t boring. But my past broke my heart into a million, unfixable pieces. So, I’m determined to keep it where it belongs—behind me. 

And the man responsible for the shattering of me? Malachi Porter, lead singer and mastermind of Bright Tragedy, should stay there too. Far away from me and this idyllic life I’ve carved out for myself. 

But what happens when my two lives collide? 

When Malachi comes crashing into my perfectly normal world, he threatens to destroy it, promises to annihilate everything I’ve replaced him with. 

He upends everything I thought I wanted and forces me to question the reasons I left Bright Tragedy all those years ago. 

But I didn’t walk away five years ago, I ran. As fast as I could go. And while my heart is whispering that it’s different this time—that he’s different—my brain is screaming for me to run again. 

Malachi Porter isn’t a normal guy. And he doesn’t belong in my “normal life.” But, nevertheless, he’s bound and determined to make a place for himself here. 

I just hope my heart can survive him, that we don’t burn into another bright tragedy. 

The Review: 4.5 Stars

I absolutely adore Rachel Higginson. She writes amazing stories and Never Fall in Love with a Rockstar was no different!

I really felt for Clover. Nothing had prepared her to face her past the way she did, and what a painful past that was... we always talk about the people with an addiction and not often about the ones that suffer because of them and with them. Clover went through a lot because of Malachi.

Malachi was a great character as well. He made no excuses for his past and has been trying for some time to write his wrongs, and now that his path has crossed with Clover again, apologizing to her and getting her back is his priority.  

When it come to Rock Star Romances this sort of plot is common. But I don't say that in a negative way, when it is done well it makes for a wonderful read, and this was certainly done well.

The side characters -mainly the other band members and manager- had great individual personalities and if Rachel makes this into a series they will make great main characters.

As a whole this was a well told story of substance abuse and second chances. It was a romance with a deep and emotional backstory to go with it. What is not to love?

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation