Skip to main content

Well Met (Well Met #1) by Jen DeLuca [arc review]

Well Met by JenDeluca
All's faire in love and war

There has been a lot of romantic comedies coming out this year and to find one that stands out from the rest is no easy task. Well Met was a delight to read and I have no doubt this debut author has a long career ahead of her. It did not just stood out, it exceeded all expectations!


Blurb:

Emily knew there would be strings attached when she relocated to the small town of Willow Creek, Maryland, for the summer to help her sister recover from an accident, but who could anticipate getting roped into volunteering for the local Renaissance Faire alongside her teenaged niece? Or that the irritating and inscrutable schoolteacher in charge of the volunteers would be so annoying that she finds it impossible to stop thinking about him?

The faire is Simon's family legacy and from the start he makes clear he doesn't have time for Emily's lighthearted approach to life, her oddball Shakespeare conspiracy theories, or her endless suggestions for new acts to shake things up. Yet on the faire grounds he becomes a different person, flirting freely with Emily when she's in her revealing wench's costume. But is this attraction real, or just part of the characters they're portraying?

This summer was only ever supposed to be a pit stop on the way to somewhere else for Emily, but soon she can't seem to shake the fantasy of establishing something more with Simon, or a permanent home of her own in Willow Creek.


There is so much more to this lovely story than romance.
First, who doesn't love a good Renaissance fair? I am pretty sure I have never read a book that took place during or on a Renaissance fair, that was original, entertaining, and charming. The book deserves 5 stars for originality alone.
There was also a strong focus on family and friendship, the unconditional love between siblings and family in general. Emily was there for her sister when she needed most and her sister was there for her when she needed later on. 
The sense of community and friendship made all characters likable and relatable. It made me, the reader, want to read the next book and learn more about each and everyone of them. 
And than of course we have the two main characters. Emily was a delight. Always ready to help and with a smile on her face. No wonder her niece adores her. 
Simon is a little too serious for his own good, but he has his reasons. And once you learn them, it is hard to fault him for it. As the story progresses he changes and grows into a fun lovable character. 
Their story truly was one of haters to lovers romance. It developed and changed slowly into something more, and even towards the end things still moved at a good and most importantly, a believable pace. 
All in all, this was a fantastic debut novel and I can't wait to see what the author comes up with next!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation