Skip to main content

Never Trust a Rockstar (Rockstars in Kill Devil Hills #1) by Sarah Darlington [arc review]

We readers all have our weakness, genres and sub-genres we do not know how to say no to. Rock-Star Romance, Mafia, and Shape-shifters are mine. So needless to say, when Sarah Darlington announced Never Trust a Rockstar I had to read it. And I am so very glad I did.


Blurb:
WIN A DATE WITH A HOT ROCKSTAR?
Yes, please. Sign me up.

Emma has always been obsessed with Ollie Mills of the southern rock band, Sunset Revival. She follows his every move on Twitter, likes all his posts on Instagram, and stalks his page on Facebook. So when there’s a contest to win a date with the sexy-as-sin, bad-boy rockstar, of course she enters.

It’s a one in a million chance.

Caleb Mills has always been unlucky in love. From the girl who broke his heart, to every one-night stand in between, the lead singer of Sunset Revival barely feels anything anymore. He’s focused on his music and nothing more. Until he sees Emma, in a blue dress, on a hot night in Nashville. She’s meant to be his brother’s date, but the moment his eyes connect with hers he wants this beautiful girl all for himself.

Caleb knows, it will only take Ollie a minute to screw things up. And he’ll be there waiting to win this girl’s heart the moment he does. But can any girl, ever, really trust a rockstar?


The Review: 4 Stars

The book has everything you would expect from a Rockstar Romance, your bad boy, the guy that keeps everyone in check, the one too hurt to ever trust anyone again, etc. It has hints of amazing lyrics, a bit of drama, memorable side characters. 

When I first started reading it I wasn't sure how I was going to like it. It probably would have helped if I had reread the blurb. In a way though I am glad I didn't because than when things moved from Ollie to Caleb I had a nice surprise.  Emma and Ollie would not have fit at all. But the girl he will probably end up with in his book?! fireworks are at play already. Well done Sarah, you hinted at that nicely. I am pretty much dying for the next book already.
Anyway... back to Caleb and Emma! 
They fit! Everything about these two worked well together. Their personalities, their needs, their wants... they were meant to be and it was nice to see the whole band on board with Caleb's plan to get the girl. Loved it! 

Emma was easy to love. Perhaps a little childish at first but that is understanble considering where she comes from and how sheltered her life is to this point. She was sweet, kind, friendly... easy to love in every way.

Caleb was charming from beginning to end. The glue that keeps the band together, the nice one. I am not one for nice guys in books but I gotta say he was special. 

Where does it loose a point? predictability. The 'drama' that takes place right at the end was obvious, as it was how it would all turn out. It might make for a good story on another book though, so I can't complain much.

All in all, if you like rockstar romances there is no reason for you not to like this one. It was great!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.