Skip to main content

Never Trust a Rockstar (Rockstars in Kill Devil Hills #1) by Sarah Darlington [arc review]

We readers all have our weakness, genres and sub-genres we do not know how to say no to. Rock-Star Romance, Mafia, and Shape-shifters are mine. So needless to say, when Sarah Darlington announced Never Trust a Rockstar I had to read it. And I am so very glad I did.


Blurb:
WIN A DATE WITH A HOT ROCKSTAR?
Yes, please. Sign me up.

Emma has always been obsessed with Ollie Mills of the southern rock band, Sunset Revival. She follows his every move on Twitter, likes all his posts on Instagram, and stalks his page on Facebook. So when there’s a contest to win a date with the sexy-as-sin, bad-boy rockstar, of course she enters.

It’s a one in a million chance.

Caleb Mills has always been unlucky in love. From the girl who broke his heart, to every one-night stand in between, the lead singer of Sunset Revival barely feels anything anymore. He’s focused on his music and nothing more. Until he sees Emma, in a blue dress, on a hot night in Nashville. She’s meant to be his brother’s date, but the moment his eyes connect with hers he wants this beautiful girl all for himself.

Caleb knows, it will only take Ollie a minute to screw things up. And he’ll be there waiting to win this girl’s heart the moment he does. But can any girl, ever, really trust a rockstar?


The Review: 4 Stars

The book has everything you would expect from a Rockstar Romance, your bad boy, the guy that keeps everyone in check, the one too hurt to ever trust anyone again, etc. It has hints of amazing lyrics, a bit of drama, memorable side characters. 

When I first started reading it I wasn't sure how I was going to like it. It probably would have helped if I had reread the blurb. In a way though I am glad I didn't because than when things moved from Ollie to Caleb I had a nice surprise.  Emma and Ollie would not have fit at all. But the girl he will probably end up with in his book?! fireworks are at play already. Well done Sarah, you hinted at that nicely. I am pretty much dying for the next book already.
Anyway... back to Caleb and Emma! 
They fit! Everything about these two worked well together. Their personalities, their needs, their wants... they were meant to be and it was nice to see the whole band on board with Caleb's plan to get the girl. Loved it! 

Emma was easy to love. Perhaps a little childish at first but that is understanble considering where she comes from and how sheltered her life is to this point. She was sweet, kind, friendly... easy to love in every way.

Caleb was charming from beginning to end. The glue that keeps the band together, the nice one. I am not one for nice guys in books but I gotta say he was special. 

Where does it loose a point? predictability. The 'drama' that takes place right at the end was obvious, as it was how it would all turn out. It might make for a good story on another book though, so I can't complain much.

All in all, if you like rockstar romances there is no reason for you not to like this one. It was great!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation