Skip to main content

Hook (Neverland #2) by Gina L. Maxwell [arc review]

Hook by Gina Maxwell
Gina Maxwell is a fantastic writer! There hasn't been one book by hers that I have not loved -and I've read a few-. Hook is the second book in her Neverland series and it is an mm romance, which is absolutely, 100%, not my thing. That alone should be testament to how much I love this woman's work!
Simply put: what are you waiting for? Go read her books! 
Blurb:
Journey back to Neverland, NC with NYT & USA Today Bestselling Author Gina L. Maxwell as she turns your favorite villain into the hero you never knew you needed.

THEY CALL ME HOOK.

I’m Captain of the Pirates; a villain by design and a loner by nature.

I don’t need anyone. More than that, I don’t want anyone. Especially Officer John Darling who insists on seeing the good in everything, including me. If there was ever any good inside of me, it was snuffed out long ago.

I’ve avoided him for years, but now I need his help to save my brother’s life and take down Fred Croc, the monster from my childhood and my current employer.
Now Darling is undercover in my crew, living in my loft and forever working out shirtless. Taking Croc’s operation down from the inside is dangerous as hell, but Darling’s probing gaze and the natural way he defers to my dominant side might just be the end of me.

But I’ve lived in the dark for too long, and no amount of light can save me. Not even one as bright as Johnathan Darling.

HE CALLS ME DARLING.

I’m a Task Force Officer with the FBI; a protector of the innocent and a man in love with a villain.

Before I was even old enough to understand it, I had a crush on the broody teen called Captain Hook, following him around like a puppy and hoping he’d show me the slightest bit of attention.

He never did, though, not for years. Not until I became his only viable option for getting his crew member back and throwing Croc behind bars. Now he can’t ignore me, and he can’t hide the desire burning in his eyes when I sink to my knees, eager to serve my Captain however he needs.

But secrets are hard to keep in close quarters, and when I discover the darkness lurking in his past, eradicating the evil in Neverland is no longer my only mission. Come hell or high water, I’ll make Hook see that he’s never been the villain of this story…he’s the hero.

The Review: 4 Stars

This book was intense! Before you pick it up please be aware of all the trigger warnings. There is nothing explicit when it comes to the stuff that happened to Hook in his childish, but it is firmly implied and often talked about. 

Hook was everything! I cannot blame Darling for falling in love with that man one tiny little bit. There were just so many sides to him. I absolutely love morally grey characters, they are so interesting to read and get to know. Hook was not a bad man, but he did on occasion do bad things to get what he wanted, revenge. And oh my that was needed. Half way through the book and I wanted to kill that ass Croc myself!

And Darling was everything you would expect from a hero. And let's face it, he is the hero in this story. Hook is strong, stronger than he knew to be. But Darling, Darling heals him. Helps him see past all the walls he built around himself. Walls he needed to keep sane. 

Their relationship was sweet. Progressed at a nice apace and it made sense. Them together made sense. 
I loved seeing good all Pan again, being his usual happy go lucky self. And his gesture of friendship to Hook was phenomenal. Hook was in shock, I was in shock... Loved it!

I can't give it 5 stars though. MM romance still isn't my thing. I don't expect homosexuals to enjoy reading the straight romance I love and I believe the same shouldn't be expected the other way around. Their relationship was wonderful, but the sex scenes weren't for me at all, which meant there were large sections of the book I did not like/appreciate. 
That being said, thanks Gina for once again making me read outside my comfort zone. I like the challenge and I will always hold you and Ruthless (who started this journey) close to my heart!

Go Read Sunnies!

Find Hook at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation