Skip to main content

Darkest Heart by Juliette Cross- 5+ Stars [arc review]

This is my favorite work by Juliette Cross so far. Dommiel was a hard demon not to fall in love with...
Are you looking for a great paranormal romance? You have found it!
Darkest Heart may be a romance story, but it is also a lot more than that. It is a story of redemption and forgiveness. We all make mistakes, and we can all bounce back. In this case, starting with our demon Dommiel.


Dommiel is considered a traitor to both kinds, a fallen angel, and a traitor to demons. He has a very dark view on life and a cocky know it all attitude to go with it. 
Then he is pared with miss goody two-shoes in a mission to find a missing angel. It was hilarious and heart warming at once. He is a traitor, he acts as if he cares for nothing. And yet, no one better dare touch 'his' sweet angel. 
And as Anya gets to know him, so do we. It soon becomes very clear there is more to Dommiel than first meet the eye, things are not black and white and Dommiel falls very much in the 'grey' category of things...
Anya is a walking contradiction, she is both one of the most sweet and innocent characters I have read in a while and a fierce warrior no one should cross. And just when you are about to roll your eyes and go 'another perfect little girl' protagonist she does something that will shock you. It shocked her too. Dommiel was the only one to think it natural! LOL

Their romance was slow burning, there was an immediate attraction for sure but they both had their reasons to at least try to keep away.
The plot was also very well written, there was a natural flow to it. I wish I had read her other series before hand because some of the secondary characters clearly have a history. That being said I didn't feel like I missed anything, there was enough on them to make the story complete, it just made me want to know more. Which I suppose if you are trying to sell your books is not a bad thing at all!

Last but not least I loved how all Dommiel physical flows were written in such a positive light. He was not depressed because he was missing an eye, or angry because his hand was not a human hand. He just was. He made no excuses for it, had no shame because of it. I thought that was awesome! It doesn't bloody matter how he looked, he was imperfectly perfect. 

Darkest Heart, Juliette Cross
Find the book at: AMAZON - BARNES AND NOBLE - GOODREADS


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation