Skip to main content

Unconscious Hearts (Hearts of Vegas #1) by Harper Sloan

I loved this book.
I did not like this book.
This was one of those reads that falls right dab in the middle between amazing and catastrophic.
I will explain...
Unconscious Hearts, Harper Slone


First things first, the blurb:

Ari Daniels didn’t count on her whole world tumbling down around her in a mess of shredded promises, broken love, and unbelievable heartbreak. Alone and stricken with grief, she shouldered the blame and eventually closed her heart off, refusing to open it for another. After all, anytime she tried, guilt and regret were waiting in the wings to remind her how painful it was.

A bet and one steamy night with a stranger force Ari to confront all she’s been hiding behind. She tries to move on, but he refuses to stand down, wanting what she is terrified to give—herself. This man may very well destroy her in the end, especially when it’s clear he has his own demons. 

What happens when two broken souls come together, finally allowing themselves to believe in the beauty of love … only to have to fight harder than ever to keep it.



2.5 Stars

Positives:
  • I really liked their background story. Thorn had a terrible childhood and ended up having to do things he is not proud of to survive. But he turned things around and own his business now. He made it. Ari lost everyone she loved and struggles to trust and let others in, those feelings are real to anyone that has lost that much at once.
  • The secondary characters were written beautifully. I was rooting for them and enjoying their side story just as much and sometimes even more than the main characters' story.
  • There was chemistry and understanding between them. It is obvious those two were meant to be, they complete each other and make each other better. 
Sins:
  • Insta love. Now sunnies,  like most romance readers I like insta-love just fine...when is well done. This was not the case here. The first time they meet actually disgusted me a little. And so did how he proceeded to try to get her in his bed. 
  • There are three POVs. Ari's, Thorn's, and 'evil'. A made-up thing that had no point, served no purpose, was over the top, and all around just ridiculous. The first time I read it through, the second I literally just flip the pages over. 
  • It was at times far too unrealistic. That is ok for certain romance sub-genres: mafia romance, fantasy romance, pnr, etc., not really for contemporary romance. If someone is calling you non stop, to the point of harassment, you at least block their number (for example). 
  • omg the heart to hearts never ended... seriously... it went on and on and on forever and ever. Between Ari and her friend, Ari to Thorn, Thorn to Ari, Ari to Thorn again, Ari and her friend again, Thorn to Ari again.......you get the point. It was annoying. The book could have been half the size if the 'heart to hearts' had been shorter. It got boring fast. 

All in all a promising romance with a great main couple made bad by poor plot composition. In other words, great plot idea-poor execution.

Find the book at: Amazon - GoodReads


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b