Skip to main content

Unconscious Hearts (Hearts of Vegas #1) by Harper Sloan

I loved this book.
I did not like this book.
This was one of those reads that falls right dab in the middle between amazing and catastrophic.
I will explain...
Unconscious Hearts, Harper Slone


First things first, the blurb:

Ari Daniels didn’t count on her whole world tumbling down around her in a mess of shredded promises, broken love, and unbelievable heartbreak. Alone and stricken with grief, she shouldered the blame and eventually closed her heart off, refusing to open it for another. After all, anytime she tried, guilt and regret were waiting in the wings to remind her how painful it was.

A bet and one steamy night with a stranger force Ari to confront all she’s been hiding behind. She tries to move on, but he refuses to stand down, wanting what she is terrified to give—herself. This man may very well destroy her in the end, especially when it’s clear he has his own demons. 

What happens when two broken souls come together, finally allowing themselves to believe in the beauty of love … only to have to fight harder than ever to keep it.



2.5 Stars

Positives:
  • I really liked their background story. Thorn had a terrible childhood and ended up having to do things he is not proud of to survive. But he turned things around and own his business now. He made it. Ari lost everyone she loved and struggles to trust and let others in, those feelings are real to anyone that has lost that much at once.
  • The secondary characters were written beautifully. I was rooting for them and enjoying their side story just as much and sometimes even more than the main characters' story.
  • There was chemistry and understanding between them. It is obvious those two were meant to be, they complete each other and make each other better. 
Sins:
  • Insta love. Now sunnies,  like most romance readers I like insta-love just fine...when is well done. This was not the case here. The first time they meet actually disgusted me a little. And so did how he proceeded to try to get her in his bed. 
  • There are three POVs. Ari's, Thorn's, and 'evil'. A made-up thing that had no point, served no purpose, was over the top, and all around just ridiculous. The first time I read it through, the second I literally just flip the pages over. 
  • It was at times far too unrealistic. That is ok for certain romance sub-genres: mafia romance, fantasy romance, pnr, etc., not really for contemporary romance. If someone is calling you non stop, to the point of harassment, you at least block their number (for example). 
  • omg the heart to hearts never ended... seriously... it went on and on and on forever and ever. Between Ari and her friend, Ari to Thorn, Thorn to Ari, Ari to Thorn again, Ari and her friend again, Thorn to Ari again.......you get the point. It was annoying. The book could have been half the size if the 'heart to hearts' had been shorter. It got boring fast. 

All in all a promising romance with a great main couple made bad by poor plot composition. In other words, great plot idea-poor execution.

Find the book at: Amazon - GoodReads


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.