Skip to main content

Tarnished City (Dark Gifts #2) by Vic James

Tarnished City, Vic James
Tarnished City was even more intense than Gilded Cage. It was darker and more heart-wrenching too. There were plot twits and new information being thrown at you at every turn, which left you constantly at the edge of your seat. If you liked the first book there is no way you are not going to like this one too.

The Blurb:

A corrupted city. A dark dream of power.


Luke is a prisoner, condemned for a murder he didn’t commit. Abi is a fugitive, desperate to free him before magic breaks his mind. But as the Jardines tighten their grip on a turbulent Britain, brother and sister face a fight greater than their own.

New alliances and old feuds will remake the nation, leaving Abi and Luke questioning everything – and everyone – they know. And as Silyen Jardine hungers for the forgotten Skill of the legendary Wonder King, the country’s darkest hour approaches. Freedom and knowledge both come at a cost. So who will pay the price? 



4 stars


Even though this is not what I usually read I absolutely love this series and would highly recommend to anyone that enjoys dystopia with a dash of magic and a plot that makes you think and keeps you on your toes.

The story picks up exactly were it left-off, you will be lost if you haven't read Gilded Cage and even than you might need a quick refresher. 

The book is once again told from a few different POVs.
Luke is now a prisoner to a monster but things are not turning out the way he expected. To start, he is not being tortured. I am very curious about his character, there is something about him that has not yet been revealed to us that only Sylien knows.

Abi has managed to escape going to the 'slave camps' and found the resistance, or what is left of it. Her goal is to find Luke and free him. Needless to say things don't turn out as planed. Abi grew a lot and learnt a lot in Tarnished City. And omg! Abi has the shock of her life towards the end of the book. I did not see that coming...you guys need to read it, I need someone to vent with.

Little Daisy stayed behind with Gavar, who grows every day more worried of the fate of his daughter if his father has his way. I kept waiting the whole book for Gavar to lose it and in the end although it did not disappoint it left me itching for more.

Ambitious Bauda made me sick to my stomach. I just want her to die. The choices she makes are... unpleasant. 

Sylien and Gavar remain my favorites. At times I felt like it was Sylien that wrote the book, that he is the one that knows what is going to happen next at every turn. He is never surprised by anyone's actions and is always one step ahead of everyone else.

If I had to give Tarnished City a negative it would be that it suffers from being 'the middle book'. Although this book was intense you do arrive at ending questioning if much happened at all. 

Find the book at:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation