Skip to main content

Tarnished City (Dark Gifts #2) by Vic James

Tarnished City, Vic James
Tarnished City was even more intense than Gilded Cage. It was darker and more heart-wrenching too. There were plot twits and new information being thrown at you at every turn, which left you constantly at the edge of your seat. If you liked the first book there is no way you are not going to like this one too.

The Blurb:

A corrupted city. A dark dream of power.


Luke is a prisoner, condemned for a murder he didn’t commit. Abi is a fugitive, desperate to free him before magic breaks his mind. But as the Jardines tighten their grip on a turbulent Britain, brother and sister face a fight greater than their own.

New alliances and old feuds will remake the nation, leaving Abi and Luke questioning everything – and everyone – they know. And as Silyen Jardine hungers for the forgotten Skill of the legendary Wonder King, the country’s darkest hour approaches. Freedom and knowledge both come at a cost. So who will pay the price? 



4 stars


Even though this is not what I usually read I absolutely love this series and would highly recommend to anyone that enjoys dystopia with a dash of magic and a plot that makes you think and keeps you on your toes.

The story picks up exactly were it left-off, you will be lost if you haven't read Gilded Cage and even than you might need a quick refresher. 

The book is once again told from a few different POVs.
Luke is now a prisoner to a monster but things are not turning out the way he expected. To start, he is not being tortured. I am very curious about his character, there is something about him that has not yet been revealed to us that only Sylien knows.

Abi has managed to escape going to the 'slave camps' and found the resistance, or what is left of it. Her goal is to find Luke and free him. Needless to say things don't turn out as planed. Abi grew a lot and learnt a lot in Tarnished City. And omg! Abi has the shock of her life towards the end of the book. I did not see that coming...you guys need to read it, I need someone to vent with.

Little Daisy stayed behind with Gavar, who grows every day more worried of the fate of his daughter if his father has his way. I kept waiting the whole book for Gavar to lose it and in the end although it did not disappoint it left me itching for more.

Ambitious Bauda made me sick to my stomach. I just want her to die. The choices she makes are... unpleasant. 

Sylien and Gavar remain my favorites. At times I felt like it was Sylien that wrote the book, that he is the one that knows what is going to happen next at every turn. He is never surprised by anyone's actions and is always one step ahead of everyone else.

If I had to give Tarnished City a negative it would be that it suffers from being 'the middle book'. Although this book was intense you do arrive at ending questioning if much happened at all. 

Find the book at:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.