Skip to main content

The Demon Race by Alexandria Warwick [arc review]

A Race across the Desert
An unimaginable Prize
The Demon Race
Blurb:
It occurs once every thousand years: the Demon Race. A test of will and strength, it is a race across the Saraj, a fight for the prize of a lifetime. And it is the key to Namali Hafshar’s freedom.

When shy, seventeen-year-old Namali learns of her arranged marriage, she flees home and enters the Demon Race for the chance to change her fate. But to compete, she must cross the Saraj on a daeva, a shadow demon that desires its own reward: to infect her soul with darkness.

Namali soon learns the desert holds more dangers than meets the eye. The only person she can trust is Sameen, a kind competitor seeking his own destiny. As her affection for him grows, however, so too does the darkness in her heart.

In this race of men and demons, only one can win. But the price of winning might be more than Namali is willing to pay.



2.3 Stars


I liked the premise of the book. The idea of a race on the back of Daevas was enticing, I do enjoy most books that deal with demons that mess up your mind and your ability to distinguish right from wrong. It creates interesting moral dynamics on a story. 

All in all the book had a good story and a lot of potential. The romance was sweet as well.

One of the main issues I had with the book however was that it was repetitive.
Namali and Sameen would run, the merchant would capture Namali, somehow she would escape, and than the two of them would have some argument about her being a woman and therefore 'this or that'...
Namali would run, be capture, escape, argue.
Namali would run, be capture..... that got seriously annoying towards the end.

Also, I read to escape the real world not to be faced with political, social and religious agenda pushing and sadly the book often felt like that. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind books that have all of that, but only when it feels natural to the story. Here it didn't. The amount of times the main character mention she was a woman and therefore 'this or that' drove me crazy. I got it the first time!  Instead of coming across as a strong woman going after freedom she often came across as a whiny little kid. Is this an ya fantasy or a book for woman oppression? Cause there should be a difference between the two... There was also a lot of religious jargon and rich vs poor stuff. 
There was so much of it all it got on the way of the story. We didn't get anywhere near enough scenes with the demons for example. Let fantasy be fantasy (that's how I feel anyway, I know many feel differently). 
Often times it felt like reading a contemporary with a little bit of fantasy. I am sure that will work for many readers, but as a matter of personal preference it did not for me.

Release Date: September 18th, 2018
Find the Book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.