Skip to main content

The Good Luck Charm by Helena Hunting [arc review]

This was the usual Feel Good Romance that Helena Hunting writes so well! It is no secret that I love
her books and The Good Luck Charm did not disappoint.

"I was trying to be logical, because God knows nothing about the way I loved you was rational..."

Here is the Book Blurb:
Is it love, or is she just his good luck charm? New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Helena Hunting absolutely delights with this witty and fun standalone contemporary romance. 


Lilah isn't sure what hurt worse: the day Ethan left her to focus on his hockey career, or the day he came back eight years later. He might think they can pick up just where they left off, but she's no longer that same girl and never wants to be again. 

Ethan Kane wants his glory days back. And that includes having Lilah by his side. With her, he was magic. They were magic. All he has to do is make her see that. 

Just when Lilah might finally be ready to let him in, though, she finds out their reunion has nothing to do with her and everything to do with his game. But Ethan's already lost her once, and even if it costs him his career, he'll do anything to keep from losing her again.




3 Stars ⭐⭐⭐

The Good Luck Charm was a feel good second chance romance. I got sucked into Lilah's and Ethan's love story from the very beginning. Lilah's just had a horrible day and to have to face Ethan in the end of it wasn't easy. It was so sweet though, it is obvious within seconds that they have chemistry and that whatever happened that broke them apart 8 years ago has not diminished how they feel for each other.

I loved Lilah from the getcko. It was impossible not to sympathies with the girl after the day she had, everything that could have gone wrong did. It was a funny first few paragraphs for sure.
She has not had an easy life but she has kept her had high, picked up the pieces of her heart when Ethan broke it all those years ago, and kept on moving. Her compassion and determination made her an easy character to love.

Ethan is perhaps the reason I am not giving it a higher rating. I liked him in the end, but for the most part he came across a little selfish and self centered. Putting his needs above hers at every opportunity. She gives him room to be the way he is with her, but when she finally stands up for herself and asks him to help her by letting her study he still ignores her needs. He redeemed himself towards the end, but a little too late for me.

The secondary characters were all interesting and I am here wondering if there will ever be books on them. I certainly hope so!

All in all it was a very sweet and witty book. I missed some big moment, some passionate event, something to make it more memorable. But it was solid like everything else Helena Hunting writes. I  will read just about anything that comes from her wonderful imagination.

Go Read!

ARC kindly provided by Forever Romance in exchange for an honest review.


The Good Luck Charm by Helena Hunting
Release Date: August 7th 2018

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2GvvsRO
B&N : http://bit.ly/2pbeoZI
iBooks: http://apple.co/2jWL1Hb
Nook: http://bit.ly/2iZFBP8
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2jikbd8

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b