Skip to main content

Vein of Love by R. Scarlett

Hello Sunnies! Hope you are having a blast today.
Vein of love was a great debut novel and the author certainly deserves praise for it. Her concept of demons was really interesting and well executed. If you like paranormal you will likely enjoy this read.
Vein of Love, R. Scarlett
Here is the blurb:

"Darkness isn't all one shade, sweetheart."

Three centuries ago, Molly Darling’s ancestors signed a contract in blood—daemon blood—to protect themselves from harm. On the eve she turns nineteen, Molly leaves for her birthday party against her parent’s wishes, sick of their warnings about her “betrothal to a demon.”

Except that she’s very much betrothed, and he’s very much a demon—one who’s only agreed to the nuptials to steal Molly’s ancient daemon powers. Brash, arrogant, and built like a Greek god, Tensley Knight keeps showing up to save Molly from otherworldly attacks, only to insult her a moment later.

As Molly learns more about the demon world, she realizes two things: that her family’s safety depends on a successful marriage, while any chance of freedom she’ll ever have calls for Tensley’s demise.

Yet sometimes Molly spots a tortured soul beyond those liquid grey eyes, and there’s no denying the way her skin tingles when Tensley touches it. In Vein of Love, safety requires sacrifice, foe becomes lover, and one must decide whether to kiss...or to kill.



3.5 Stars
The best part of the book is the world in which is set. The idea that demons are heartless monstrous creatures but have the potential to grow a heart is rather touching and exciting. Specially considering the consequences, if you care, if you love, you will grow a heart, but you will be killed by the prince of demons too. It leads to some very interesting characters. I also thought it was rather clever how demons got their energy, how different they were from each other. Some fed of intimacy, others on emotions...

As far as characters go Tensley was the star of the show. The demon that could not and would not care. The guy had to put up with a lot of childish and stupid things from Molly and still he protected her. Often the guys mess up on books, it was rather refreshing reading a story where the opposite is the case. Molly messed up and messed up bad. He can't be a good guy, that would mean his death, but he is, and as the book progresses the more obvious that becomes.

Molly was a pain in the butt. All the lost stars are on her. Her character annoyed me and bored me. Sexy paranormal romances should not have childish heroines. It drove me mad. She was indecisive, selfish, self-centered, blind to things that should be obvious...
And because of that I also found their chemistry often lacking. Their love/hate relationship felt a little off at times. When it was right, it was hot hot hot. But sadly that wasn't always the case. 

All in all it was a great book. I loved the plot, the demon world, and our main demon was super interesting. It just wasn't exactly what I would describe as a successful romance book. Does that make sense?



Anywho... Go Read and tell me what you think yourself! 

Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b