Skip to main content

Vein of Love by R. Scarlett

Hello Sunnies! Hope you are having a blast today.
Vein of love was a great debut novel and the author certainly deserves praise for it. Her concept of demons was really interesting and well executed. If you like paranormal you will likely enjoy this read.
Vein of Love, R. Scarlett
Here is the blurb:

"Darkness isn't all one shade, sweetheart."

Three centuries ago, Molly Darling’s ancestors signed a contract in blood—daemon blood—to protect themselves from harm. On the eve she turns nineteen, Molly leaves for her birthday party against her parent’s wishes, sick of their warnings about her “betrothal to a demon.”

Except that she’s very much betrothed, and he’s very much a demon—one who’s only agreed to the nuptials to steal Molly’s ancient daemon powers. Brash, arrogant, and built like a Greek god, Tensley Knight keeps showing up to save Molly from otherworldly attacks, only to insult her a moment later.

As Molly learns more about the demon world, she realizes two things: that her family’s safety depends on a successful marriage, while any chance of freedom she’ll ever have calls for Tensley’s demise.

Yet sometimes Molly spots a tortured soul beyond those liquid grey eyes, and there’s no denying the way her skin tingles when Tensley touches it. In Vein of Love, safety requires sacrifice, foe becomes lover, and one must decide whether to kiss...or to kill.



3.5 Stars
The best part of the book is the world in which is set. The idea that demons are heartless monstrous creatures but have the potential to grow a heart is rather touching and exciting. Specially considering the consequences, if you care, if you love, you will grow a heart, but you will be killed by the prince of demons too. It leads to some very interesting characters. I also thought it was rather clever how demons got their energy, how different they were from each other. Some fed of intimacy, others on emotions...

As far as characters go Tensley was the star of the show. The demon that could not and would not care. The guy had to put up with a lot of childish and stupid things from Molly and still he protected her. Often the guys mess up on books, it was rather refreshing reading a story where the opposite is the case. Molly messed up and messed up bad. He can't be a good guy, that would mean his death, but he is, and as the book progresses the more obvious that becomes.

Molly was a pain in the butt. All the lost stars are on her. Her character annoyed me and bored me. Sexy paranormal romances should not have childish heroines. It drove me mad. She was indecisive, selfish, self-centered, blind to things that should be obvious...
And because of that I also found their chemistry often lacking. Their love/hate relationship felt a little off at times. When it was right, it was hot hot hot. But sadly that wasn't always the case. 

All in all it was a great book. I loved the plot, the demon world, and our main demon was super interesting. It just wasn't exactly what I would describe as a successful romance book. Does that make sense?



Anywho... Go Read and tell me what you think yourself! 

Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.