Skip to main content

The Rose (The Red #2) by Tiffany Reisz [arc review]

Adult content 

Greek Mythology meets Romance and Erotica!
I wasn't sure what to expect but boy did it delivered. I loved everything about it.
“There is no shame in wanting to live inside your favorite stories.”
The Blurb:
On the day of Lia’s university graduation party, her parents—wealthy art collectors with friends in high places—gift her a beautiful wine cup, a rare artifact decorated with roses. It’s a stunning gift, and one that August Bowman, a friend of her parents and a guest at Lia’s party, also has his eye on. The cup, August tells her, is known as the Rose kylix, and it’s no ordinary cup. It was used in the temple ceremonies of Eros, Greek god of erotic love, and has the power to bring the most intimate sexual fantasies to life.

But Lia is skeptical of August’s claims of the cup’s mythology and magic—after all, he’s a collector himself, and she suspects he just wants to get his hands on this impressive piece of art. So he dares her to try it for herself, and when Lia drinks from the Rose kylix she is suddenly immersed in an erotic myth so vivid it seems real—as though she’s living out the most sensual fantasy with August by her side…

Realizing the true power of this ancient and dangerous relic, Lia is even more wary of giving it up, though August insists it is only safe with him. He’s willing to pay the full value of the cup, but Lia has another type of trade in mind. One that finds them more tangled up in each other—and in fantasy—than either was prepared for.



5 Stars

The Rose surprised me. I have never read anything by Tiffany Reisz and although the blurb sounded interesting I wasn't sure how she would make it all work. I confess that Part One (the book is divided in 8 parts and 37 chapters) didn't sell it for me- at all. BUT things just improved at a crazy pace after that. 

The most amazing and surprising part for me about the book is how sweet and adorable it all was. Those are not words often used to described erotica, yet, here we are. 
Lia was a captivating character. Her personality a perfect blend of innocence and spice. 

August was fabulous. His sense of humour and straightforwardness at the most awkward moments had me giggling. 

The banter between Lia and August was fun. Both are strong characters on their own right and when they come together: fire works! 

Lia's parents were phenomenal. I laughed out loud many times!

And let's not forget to mention how amazing all the Greek Mythology added to the story was. Tiffany Reisz did an amazing job researching those stories and adapting them to her own. 
Erotica gets a bad rep for containing sex and nothing else. The Rose is a perfect example why the genre should not be dismissed. Yes, there was a good amount of explicit sex scenes, but any fan of Greek Mythology will tell you that there was a ton lot more to it too. 
There is no romance book more pleasurable to read than a 'brainy erotica'- just saying :) 

“I’m dying to hear what you dream about in that deep dark little corner of your mind, the one with all the locks on the door and Cerberus guarding it with all three of his vicious heads…”

Release date: April 16th 
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation