Skip to main content

The Rose (The Red #2) by Tiffany Reisz [arc review]

Adult content 

Greek Mythology meets Romance and Erotica!
I wasn't sure what to expect but boy did it delivered. I loved everything about it.
“There is no shame in wanting to live inside your favorite stories.”
The Blurb:
On the day of Lia’s university graduation party, her parents—wealthy art collectors with friends in high places—gift her a beautiful wine cup, a rare artifact decorated with roses. It’s a stunning gift, and one that August Bowman, a friend of her parents and a guest at Lia’s party, also has his eye on. The cup, August tells her, is known as the Rose kylix, and it’s no ordinary cup. It was used in the temple ceremonies of Eros, Greek god of erotic love, and has the power to bring the most intimate sexual fantasies to life.

But Lia is skeptical of August’s claims of the cup’s mythology and magic—after all, he’s a collector himself, and she suspects he just wants to get his hands on this impressive piece of art. So he dares her to try it for herself, and when Lia drinks from the Rose kylix she is suddenly immersed in an erotic myth so vivid it seems real—as though she’s living out the most sensual fantasy with August by her side…

Realizing the true power of this ancient and dangerous relic, Lia is even more wary of giving it up, though August insists it is only safe with him. He’s willing to pay the full value of the cup, but Lia has another type of trade in mind. One that finds them more tangled up in each other—and in fantasy—than either was prepared for.



5 Stars

The Rose surprised me. I have never read anything by Tiffany Reisz and although the blurb sounded interesting I wasn't sure how she would make it all work. I confess that Part One (the book is divided in 8 parts and 37 chapters) didn't sell it for me- at all. BUT things just improved at a crazy pace after that. 

The most amazing and surprising part for me about the book is how sweet and adorable it all was. Those are not words often used to described erotica, yet, here we are. 
Lia was a captivating character. Her personality a perfect blend of innocence and spice. 

August was fabulous. His sense of humour and straightforwardness at the most awkward moments had me giggling. 

The banter between Lia and August was fun. Both are strong characters on their own right and when they come together: fire works! 

Lia's parents were phenomenal. I laughed out loud many times!

And let's not forget to mention how amazing all the Greek Mythology added to the story was. Tiffany Reisz did an amazing job researching those stories and adapting them to her own. 
Erotica gets a bad rep for containing sex and nothing else. The Rose is a perfect example why the genre should not be dismissed. Yes, there was a good amount of explicit sex scenes, but any fan of Greek Mythology will tell you that there was a ton lot more to it too. 
There is no romance book more pleasurable to read than a 'brainy erotica'- just saying :) 

“I’m dying to hear what you dream about in that deep dark little corner of your mind, the one with all the locks on the door and Cerberus guarding it with all three of his vicious heads…”

Release date: April 16th 
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.