Skip to main content

How to Make Friends with the Dark by Kathleen Glasgow [arc review]

I am speechless and lost in a tsunami of emotions. 
Kathleen Glasgow surprised me and shocked me with Girl in Pieces, and it is no different here. 

Grief sucks
Grief stinks
There is no happy ending in grief
So needless to say (and true to what I now consider Kathleen Glasgow's style), there is no happy ending here either...

The Blurb:
Here is what happens when your mother dies.

It’s the brightest day of summer and it’s dark outside. It’s dark in your house, dark in your room, and dark in your heart. You feel like the darkness is going to split you apart.

That’s how it feels for Tiger. It’s always been Tiger and her mother against the world. Then, on a day like any other, Tiger’s mother dies. And now it’s Tiger, alone.

Here is how you learn to make friends with the dark.


The review: 5 Stars

It is hard to review a book that left you speechless. How to Make Friends with the Dark is not for the faint hearted. It deals with grief and loss in a very raw and real way. Tiger lost everything, and I truly mean everything. She goes from being a normal teen annoyed at her mum for picking a dress she didn't want -typical- to being alone. One day she has a house and a mother, the next she is in foster care living with strangers. 

Grief is not an easy topic to put on paper. The thoughts and emotions that usually follow a teen in grief (and many adults) is not either: depression, suicidal thoughts, loneliness, trauma, etc. Kathleen Glasgow described all of those perfectly. My heart was breaking for Tiger and the other kids while reading the book. And as someone that has been in foster care and is now a foster mum I can also tell you with certainty that all of those feelings are real, that all those situations can happen and do happen. The accuracy of it all was phenomenal. 

The thing I loved most about the book was the ending. It has became a habit to say "everything will be ok" and Kathleen Glasgow makes it very clear it is NOT. Grief sucks and it stays with you, life is hard, and that is ok. It is ok to cry, it is ok to be in pain, and it is ok to say it is not going to be ok.

Release date: April 9th, 2019
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation