Skip to main content

Girl in Pieces: 4 out of 5

This is a hard book for me to review. I really liked it, so it has a special place in my heart. But I really struggled with it as well.

Girl in Pieces synopsis (from GoodReads): "Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At 17 she's already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.
Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge."

Girl in Pieces is a very dark novel on self harm and alcoholism. It is written in a somewhat fragmented text. Imagine getting a glimpse at someone's journal but never being able to fully read it. That didn't bother me, but I can see how it will bother some readers. It made it hard to follow but I came to appreciate it more after a Q&A with the author and understanding the thought behind it. It is meant to be the way Charlie thinks, the way someone hurting so much and so confused and trying to forget so much thinks. It makes perfect sense now. In a way, I wish I knew that before reading the book, it is easier to appreciate the writing style now. Clever!

Here is the thing I struggle the most in this book: there are depressing books that move the reader, and there are depressing books that are just...well... depressing! There is no light in the end of the tunnel here. It is as realistic as it can be. Someone who has been through all that may get better, but fully heal? forget? You will NOT have a good feeling when you are done reading. You will be in a place as dark as the author must have gone in order to write it. And that is a good thing, shows how good the writer is. But it is also a hard thing to come to terms with.
When I finished the books I was completely speechless. 'That's it?' 'That's the ending?' 'But what about Riley?' 'What about Charlie?' I felt in the end as fragmented as the story. Not complete. There is no sequel, this is it. But I can help but want more, I can't help but be my selfish self and desire a happier ending.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation