Skip to main content

The Stonefire Dragon series by Jessie Donovan- 5 out of 5

The plot on each of the books in the series is slightly different from the other, in each book new characters appear but old ones are never forgotten. I am only on book 3 (it is a series of 8) and I am already in love with it.
Update: I have now read all 10 Stonefire Dragons books and Lochguard (spin off series) and have loved them all! I will have more reviews for them here soon! -Dec 2017- 

The first book is about Melanie Hall and Tristan Macleod (my favorite still!!!). Melanie offers herself as a sacrifice to the dragon in exchange for a vial of dragon's blood. Dragon's blood cure any illnesses and her brother is really ill. The Dragonman she is assigned to hates humans, and with reason. Dragon hunters -humans- killed his mother and tortured his sister. I wont say more not to spoil it to anyone...

The second book in the series is about the dragon clan leader Bram and the Department of Dragons Affairs inspector (and human) Evie Marshall. Contrary to Tristan, Bram does not hate humans, but that does not mean he is not suspicious of them, and Evie has ulterior motives to be inspecting the clan. Her life is at risk, her only choice -or so she thinks- is to seduce the clan's leader and have him take her as his mate.

Now, before I tell you what I think of the books, a little warning (not one I was given, I was completely taken by surprise!): this is not just a supernatural, shape shifting book. It is an adult book... the sexual references are very strong. I almost fell of my chair... It is a romance story though (possibly one of the most romantic paranormal books I read in a long while).

Now, if you can put that aside (or happens to like it like I do), the story on these books are awesome. It moves at a great pace! There is always something happening and you are never left guessing for too long. And the endings are all satisfactory! There are a few things unanswered, which gives room for the next book, but they are good endings. No massive cliff-hangers.
The characters are clever, strong, sassy... I found myself laughing with them a few times.
There is strong friendship and trust theme running through. I rather like that. The interaction between the members of the clan is entertaining and beautiful to read.

The main female characters are fierce! Although they are human, they give the dragonman a good run for their money. It is super entertaining reading their interactions and thoughts.

All in all, a great contemporary paranormal romance! GO read!!!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation