Skip to main content

The Fault in Our Stars- 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 is not enough praise for this wonderful book!

"That is the thing about pain, it demands to be felt" -Gus-

The synopsis (taken from the book): "Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named August Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Suppor Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten."

So so many tears were shed during and at the end of this book. I loved it so much that the very next day I was getting the film and sitting down to watch it. Can't say I liked the movie quite as much as the book, but it was good too.
A warning though for those who have not read it yet: you will not just cry, you will have your soul crushed, destroyed, in pieces... this book gets to you in a way no other has or probably ever will.

This book goes way deeper than teenage romance. Yes, there is romance, but it is not a 'wishy-washy' over dramatized romance. The book is about much more than that. The book is about life, death, friendships, hardships... It does not turn any of the terminal characters into martyrs or depressed individuals. As Hazel says herself in the book, this is not a cancer book. It deals in a very realistic way with how a 16 year old with a terminal illness might actually feel in real life, beyond the cancer and together with the cancer.
It also does not pretend death to be an easy thing. Cancer is ugly and unpleasant and it is portrayed accordingly. So is the pain of loss. And so is the pain of knowing you will loose.

Beyond the tears there are also fun and witty moments through out.

The other main character, Gus, is as interesting as Hazel is. He wants to leave a last impression in the world, he has grand views of heroism. His life is dictated by metaphors (trust me, you will laugh at almost all of them!)

John Green did an AMAZING job! When the characters cried, I cried. When they laughed I laughed. When they were angry, so was I...
You will hear this a lot from me: if an author can make you feel what his characters feel, his/her book is a winner! 10 out of 5! :)

Comments

  1. Hehr.. Now i want to read the book..
    I know I'm gonna suffer, I'll be happy...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b