Skip to main content

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle) : 4 out of 5

Be prepared for a very very slow start.
I enjoyed the book, but it took a long time for the story to get going. I had to fight my inner desire to skim through. Luckily, I was told by a wonderful bookstagrammer before I got into it that the first book takes a while to get going, so it wasn't an unwelcoming surprise.
And that my friends, is the ONLY reason this book gets a 4. Had it been an easy read from the beginning it would have been a 5.

The Raven boys is about a girl called Blue, her psychic family, and 4 boys from the local rich boys school.

GoodReads: "For as long as she can remember, Blue has been told by her psychic family that she will kill her true love. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she is not sure anymore."

It sounds form that little synopsis that the book will be full of romance, but it is not. It is very cleverly written and clearly purposefully left out. There are mentions of it, little teasers, but it is never right there out in the open. Maybe on the next book.

Blue's family is epic! They are amazingly well created characters and I hope there is much more of them on the next books. They are funny and loyal.

The Raven boys are all quite different from each other, and all have their certain appeal. I struggle to find a favorite between them. They are unique and all great in their own way.
Adam is brave and weak all at once, hard not to love; Gansey is a smart ass who also happens to be a softie; Ronan is tough but at the same time thoughtful; and Noah is a sweetheart. For rich boys from a school of not-so-great personalities those four are epic friends with an epic friendship! And Blue simply completes the circle.

The book has many mysteries and secrets to be unfold to keep you on your toes. Although the beginning may be slow, one it gets going there is no way you will be bored!

Go read!

Comments

  1. Hmmmm... Sounds great & I cn handle slow start... XD

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. As soon as I finish the next book I will post a review (next week sometime as I hav people coming over tonight and wont be able to read for a few days). Its slow again. I like the story, but I truly wish it moved a little faster!

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation