Skip to main content

Realism (Sugar and Spice, Ink #1) by Evan Grace [arc review]

Every once is a while you read a book that can be easily described with one word. This is one of those times. Realism was adorable. Everything about it put a smile on my face.


Blurb:
Ordinary, typical, conformed, are words never used to describe me. I’ve never been one to play by the rules. It’s my world, my life and I do things my way.

I see the way they stare at my body covered in tattoos and my lavender hair, I just don’t give a damn. There is only one thing in this world that can get me fired up, that’s screwing with my daughter. As a single mom, it’s my job to protect her, fight for her. She is and will always be my top priority.

So, when I get a call that she’s in trouble at school, with a boy- no less, my claws are out and ready to strike. And the boy’s father, some high society stockbroker, isn’t about to deter me. I don’t care how sexy, smart and rugged he is.
Opposites may attract, and I’ve been down that road before, it’s one I never plan to travel again. A man like that would never be interested in a woman like me. That I know for certain, after all I’m a realist
.
 

The review: 4 Stars

Let's start by saying that I was really worried I wasn't going to like it. Why? Single dad or mum romance tropes are in between one of my least favorites. That being said, I did not have to worry. Evan made sure it all not just worked but that you fell in love with the kiddos as well as the main characters. 

The chemistry between Mona and Joaquin was spot on. They worked wonderfully together. I for one think opposites attract so I loved how different they were. I think their differences made them better, they complemented each other. 

Funnily enough (because as I said earlier I am not into kids on romance books) the kids were my favorite part. Their friendship to each other and Joaquin and Mona's relationship with their kids and each other's kids was truly special. They became a truly wonderful and beautiful family and I absolutely loved the little stories added at the end (months and years later).

Overall it was a fabulous story. Some parts had a little too much inner monologue and others were a tad too predictable. Also Joaquin's reaction to his attraction to Mona in the beginning wasn't great. But those were all  minor things and didn't make the story any less pleasurable.

Go Read! 

Release Date: April 2nd, 2019
You can find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation